We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferry Quay Cafe 'The Caravan'

Ferry Quay Cafe 'The Caravan'
Ferry Quay, Woodbridge IP12 1BW, England
+44 7943 959530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 84 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Recently took a day trip down to woodbridge with my husband and children. The cafe is situated in such a lovely location, with perfect views and a close walk to the town centre. The staff were very helpful and friendly, my husband went completely off menu and they were happy to change things around no matter how fussy he was. They offered smaller portions for both children happily. I had a bacon sandwich and it was lovely, as were all my familys' meals. Inside the cafe is very cosy and clean. Lovely place to stop off at while on a walk around the river, i would even make a trip especially for their full english breakfasts or one of their daily specials!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have had bacon butties and full breakfast here - both great. The food all tastes fresh and is well prepared to order. The coffee may not be the best in town but its not too bad either.
Most seating is outside so if a rainy/cold day you will be with lots of other folk trying for a seat inside! But if you do go 'out of season' it feels really cosy to be in a booth in the caravan!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sunday special Lunch at the caravan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have visited the Ferry Quay cafe by the River Deben for many years. I have always found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, the food made to a good standard and priced well. I love the views from the caravan when eating in or sitting outside in the summer sun, away from the shops and people in Woodbridge. I often see friends or people I know either eating there or passing by as they enjoy a lovely walk along the river. I love my ham, eggs and chips which I have most Sundays, with bread and butter of course, after swimming at the local pool. After my lovely lunch I enjoy a walk around the quay, across to the Tide Mill and a quick look at the art works at the Woodbridge Art Club building. A great way to spend a Sunday afternoon-or fact any day !!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Won't bother here ever again!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Used this place loads of times and food was always quite good if a bit expensive but I did a longish bike ride today cycling from Ipswich to Woodbridge. Unfortunately although I had my bike lock with me I came out without my key so was limited to where I could eat and leave my expensive bike within view,bike leant against the caravan seemed perfect for my quick snack.I simply ordered a bacon sandwich and a cold can of drink, 1 bacon sandwich 1 cold can £4.50, well overpriced for a cafe of any standard .When the sandwich came it was like the bread had been left in the sun for an hour before servinging it to me.The bacon was dry and overcooked, like the last sandwich on the plate at a party that's dry and curled up and nobody will want it or take it, you know what I mean by that type of quality.

In hindsight I should of been more of a man and took it back in the caravan and complained right it front of their customers, but as I said due to my circumstsnces I had nowhere else that I could eat at midday on a Sunday in Woodbridge and safely leave my expensive bike (£900) , with that type of food served to customers and a further 10 mile ride home a refund would only have been just, then going home with no food , I was basically stuck either way I tried so I just ate the rubbish I had been served


As I said earlier I've had good meals there, I used to push my wheelchair bound mother there as it was an ideal place to eat with outside tables to just put the wheelchair by the side of one. But now shes passed away I'll never eat there again.

It wasn't a mistake on there part to have served it like that, the dry bread was on top of the sandwich and you couldn't have cut it in half without noticing the bread was crispy and not fit to serve to a paying customer, they obviously just didn't care. You wouldn't have eaten that thing in your own house , much less charged somebody for it and overpriced at that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborahaj, Owner at Ferry Quay Cafe 'The Caravan', responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are sorry that your visit to our cafe was not a pleasurable one on this occasion. We wish that you had spoken to us regarding your disappointing sandwich and allowed us to rectify the problem. As we are sure you are aware as a previous customer on loads of occasions; our cafe is very popular locally and with both new and returning visitors, therefore we feel our pricing is pitched right for our position in Woodbridge. It is regrettable that you have chosen after one unfortunate experience never to come again after so many previous good meals. We do care greatly about our customers and the quality of the food that we serve and hope that if you are ever in the area again that you may call in so we could dicuss this and remind you of all the good meals that you enjoyed in the past, also with the knowledge that you have somewhere safe to store your bike as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,058 reviews 1,058 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 352 cities Reviews in 352 cities
1,100 helpful votes 1,100 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It’s called the Caravan because that’s what it is - a long caravan parked by the river. Strolling along the river bank admiring the boats is a pleasant way to spend an hour or two in Woodbridge, and afterwards the Caravan’s an ideal place for a rest. Sit outside if you want, or inside, with an excellent mug of strong, old-fashioned tea and perhaps a bite to eat - egg and chips, sausage and chips, bacon and chips, ham and chips, things like that.

I saw there’s battered local cod on Fridays.

Great prices and a friendly owner, who makes the tea and does the cooking.

There’s a shallow ramp between the station and the Caravan, so it’s a good place to wait for a train too, if you’ve got a bit of spare time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferry Quay Cafe 'The Caravan' also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Ferry Quay Cafe 'The Caravan'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferry Quay Cafe 'The Caravan', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.