We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky there is plenty of other pubs in Woodbridge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cherry Tree

The Cherry Tree
73 Cumberland Street, Woodbridge, England
01394 384627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 84 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lucky there is plenty of other pubs in Woodbridge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went there with a local resident who had not eaten at the Pub before but had heard good things about it.

The pub was almost empty on a Thursday lunchtime. I struggled to find something on the menu that I fancied - so did my friend. I went for the home made cod and dill fishcakes, she went for the bacon and lentle soup and the nachos with bolognaise sauce.

The fishcakes came up looking like a load of salmon and potatoe on the plate. I don't like salmon fishcakes so I sent them back only to be told it was cod but there was a lot of tomato puree in them. They were not cooked properly so I had an alternative of plain old fish and chips which were fine.

My friend said her soup was very unpleasant. I tried it. I make this soup at home and it is delicious. Don't know what they did wrong. The soup was untouched and when we paid, we mentioned the inedible soup but it was not taken off the bill.

Will not visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    37
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Popped in to meet my sister for lunch and what a delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Met up with my sister for a quick lunch in the pouring rain. Very warm welcome, table found and my partner and I shared two platters (a Antipasti one and a Cheeseboard) which were both served with a real selection of meats and cheeses, breads and crackers, chutney, balsamic dipping oil and slices of crisp apple. What a midweek treat!
Service couldn't be faulted, food was excellent and reasonably priced, several interesting specials on their board too. A very good pub lunch with a very warm welcome, one we will repeat very soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Honest pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have eaten here twice now and will certainly be making it a third. Incredible value, in fact we worked it out as being cheaper than cooking at home. Only critism was the service, for example, we asked for a sandwich on granary and got a white roll... I asked twice for mayonaise. That is however being super critical as overall this is a lovely pub- try the asparagus and poached egg when its in season!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“Excellent service & fabulous well cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and myself had an excellent meal here on a Saturday lunch time. My wife had fish cakes , homemade wedge style chips but didn't want the salad (as per the menu) but it was no trouble to substitute the salad for a fine selection of vegetables. I had sausage, mash and vegetables.
There was a good selection of deserts.
The portions were large and the service was excellent.
The staff were extremely friendly and polite in this very quaint old fashioned pub which had the obligatory open fire.
After eating we left our car in their car park after asking if this would be ok and walked across the road to Norcutts Garden centre.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It was so good that we end up going back in the same week. Food and beer are reasonable. Nice garden area to eatout in summer. Staff were friendly and helpful (nice steak! and Adams ales) Not sure about a large party, we were 4 and comfortable, Did see table that was for 8 or 10, so guess that's not a issue for them. Will go back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cherry Tree also viewed

 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cherry Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.