We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Froize Freehouse Restaurant

The Froize Freehouse Restaurant
Orford Road | Chillesford, Woodbridge IP12 3PU , England
01394 450282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 82 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: David Grimwood's delightful Free-house Restaurant, serving delicious rustic food in a rather charming, slightly old fashioned way!
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An exceptional experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at Butley Mills (which is lovely) and this restaurant is about half a mile away. It has limited opening hours but we went on a Saturday night for my wife's special birthday. They accommodated a party of 15 easily (though pre book) and the service, food and atmosphere was excellent. We were initially a bit cautious of the 'serve yourself' for main course, but it gave us the chance to view the wonderful array of food they offer and a chance to meet David who enthusiastically explained what was what and recommended a few tryouts and variations. Our plates were full of exquisite food. A real gem and I cant recommend highly enough. Thanks very much for a lovely evening and well done to you and all your staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    26
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gem of a find. What a lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

First visit and what a wonderful surprise. Real rustic food beautifully prepared and unique. Friendly staff and excellent service with truly Suffolk size helpings. Definitely on our "must visit again" list.

Tony Rowland
Rushmere St Andrew

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a pub that has been converted into a restaurant. It has limited opening - lunchtimes from Tuesday to Sunday plus Friday and Saturday evenings.
The format is relaxed and unusual. There is a comfortable lounge area where you can have drinks and survey the menu. Your starter order is taken there and delivered to your table but the main course is self-service from a hot plate area in the restaurant. Although the food is not individually prepared, the standard is high with the locally produced pork and game being particular highlights. Orders for dessert are taken at the table and brought to you.
Another example of the informaility is the water fountain where you can get your own tap water.
The staff are delightful and the place has a very happy atmosphere where people obviously enjoy their work.
Total cost £80 including drinks and service.
Definitely recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing experience - we will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We went for lunch here for the first time on Easter Sunday- and had an amazing time! The choice of food was incredible- could have eaten everything on offer- and everything was delicious! Great local produce, perfectly cooked- particularly enjoyed the crackling! :) The atmosphere was lovely, and David Grimwood was the perfect host- friendly and chatty. We will definitely be coming back and would thoroughly recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
You are just our favorite type of customers! - Thank you so much for the lovely review - see you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect puds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our yearly "drive your classic" day was at the Froize for the 3rd year in a row. I did suggest trying somewhere but was overruled! The food on the last 2years was superb so back we came. The welcome was warm and friendly. Food was up to our expectations and the choise left us dazed. Making a choice is hard, do I go for the fish pie, the chicken and asparagus pie, gunifowl wrapped in bacon or one of the other dishes available? All looked great and the providence of all of the ingredients local.

Desserts were very delicious.
One of the group had a birthday cake and the Froize were happy to serve it with the coffee.

How can I suggest anywhere else for our drive out?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Always lovely to have old friends back again! Thanks very much for the fabulous review - May those lovely 'wheels' of yours, grace our car park again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Froize Freehouse Restaurant also viewed

Pettistree, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Froize Freehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.