We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use to be good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seckford Hall to your Saves list
Seckford Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Off A12, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Use to be good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in August, so may have been busy but what a disappointment. Aged 70 but sent to the attic which entailed lots of stairs with no help with the luggage. The room very stuffy so open the windows only to find the kitchen air conditioning right outside which kept us awake. A layer of dust on the furniture mention the room either wasn't used or the cleaner needs a kick. Having had a big lunch went for a snack in the bar but the food not enable. Never again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
How disappointing to read your review of the Hotel from August. My housekeeper joins me in my concern in your comments about the cleanliness of the room which is most unusual here at Seckford Hall - remembering that August was a particularly dry and hot month we did keep alot of windows open prior to guests arrival, we could have happily reserviced your room if its wasn't to standard.
I am sorry if the reception team on this occasion failed to offer luggage assistance as this is our normal practice at the hotel.
It is a shame that you have decided not to revisit based on this feedback
Yours sincerely
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    112
    72
    41
    19
See reviews for
95
212
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were lovely and the food very good. We are a gay couple and were treated well. We booked a four poster room and it was nice but tiny.

I loved the new cocktail bar. Thought it was stylish and interesting.

We stayed as part of the Sunday deal so had to spend £31.50 each on a meal. The meal was good but we were forced to have three courses in order to make the minum spend. So on a practical note, it would be easier if Secford either raised meal prices or dropped the min spend.

Room Tip: The Tudor room looked wonderful. Large room, four poster, fireplace and character. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operartions Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Night Retreat offer with us here at Seckford Hall. I am sure you appreciate, being a grade 2 * listed country house, we are limited in terms of reconfiguration of our rooms.
It is great to hear that you made use of our new Cocktail Bar and that you found us welcoming for the duration of your stay
I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Seckford Hall soon
With best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent an evening here on a Saturday night the place was buzzing. We enjoyed cocktails in the new lounge I love the new decor. The restaurant is great too so much better than the out dated place it use to be. The meal was amazing everything was cooked perfectly and the tastes blew you away, it was a meal you didn't want to end. There where loads of staff all very polite and helpful. Can't wait to return and would definitely recommend everything about The New Seckford. We visited another Hall in the week for dinner and can absolutely understand why Seckford have done what they have, it was cold and uninviting and needed a massive update. Well done New Seckford.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
It is so lovely to learn that you appreciate our new look Hotel - after such an extensive investment into the hotel, it is great to hear that you are enjoying our new facilities.
Our other new snug bar opens this week to compliment the Cocktail bar offering our guests a choice of the two different environments - please do pop back soon to enjoy the latest addition to our refurbishment program
With very best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have eaten here many times over the years and always had a good meal and good service and enjoyed coffee in the lovely wood panelled lounge with its antique furniture afterwards. Having read the good reviews we decided to stay for the night for the first time.

We had a room in the main house and although a bit small for a superior room it was traditionally furnished in keeping with the style of the house and had everything we needed.

Unfortunately the new owners have stripped out a lot of the traditional features in the rest of the house. We had seen the new restaurant on the we site so knew what to expect and while not to our liking it is in a style that seems popular so we can see how some people might like it. We did find the vinyl chairs uncomfortable though and preferred the upholstered ones they used to have.

The lounge was another matter though. They have stripped out the lovely old lounge and replaced it with a modern cocktail bar which we thought looks completely wrong. The lounge areas that are next door were not at all cosy and one was far too bright with apparently no way of dimming the lights so sitting in there was not at all relaxing.

We had a drink in the cocktail bar and the staff seemed very inexperienced. My wife asked for a non alcoholic cocktail only to be told there were none on the menu. The barmaid looked at her recipe sheet but confirmed there were not any and admitted she was only partly trained. Personally I do not think it takes a lot of training to be a able to mix a non alcoholic cocktail even if it is not on the menu. There was another couple at the bar who asked for a brandy and the barman asked what one as they had three. They said they wanted just a regular brandy but this seemed to throw the waiter completely.

We did not have dinner but ate breakfast. The food was acceptable without being great. There was one member of staff who we recognised from previous visits and looked after us well but the other person serving was new, was unshaven with messy hair and looked tired. It was as if he had just got out of bed. Not what you want to see in the morning.

When we checked out I mentioned that I did not like the cocktail bar and was told they are building another bar with a lounge so maybe that will be better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of Seckford Hall following your stay with us last weekend. I have to admit that I agree with you in terms of the lighting in the new East Wing Lounge which was fitted with the wrong type of light fitting which is due to be replaced imminently.
I have discussed your feedback in relation to the cocktail bar with the bar team - a conscious decision was made when compiling the new cocktail bar list not to include a non alcoholic cocktail as we wanted out colleagues to interact with the customer to understand their personal taste - it is disappointing to learn that this was not your experience
We are in the process of converting our previous bar to include sofas and relaxed seating areas with the correct light fittings being installed at this time!
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to Seckford Hall
With kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been to this hotel for many years for a meal and just loved it. We went today and just could not believe our eyes! What on earth has happened to such a lovely building. The refurbishments are just awful and do not go with a lovely old building of this nature. After dinner you used to be able to go into the lounge and sit and have coffee on lovely comfortable chairs and really relax in the ambience of the place. Not any more. So very disappointing and won't be going again, what a shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
When we embarked on the refurbishment of this beautiful Grade 2* listed property, we were aware that we would receive feedback such as yours as inevitably change isn't always to an individuals liking. I am sorry that you don't like 'New Seckford' - it is unfortunate that you mention you won't return even when we have our new bar area with welcoming sofa's and intimate areas which we are currently renovating.
Best wishes
Mark Suddes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had a meal at Seckford Hall recently, it was generally OK but spoilt by a few issues. Firstly, we had a couple of drinks in the new cocktail bar and were astounded to find the olives we asked for were charged at £5 for a very small number. I cant think of another upmarket bar I have been to recently that doesn't provide a few nibbles included in the price. When we were taken to the restaurant, we were ushered to the table immediately on the right as you enter the restaurant. This is an undesirable location because it is draughty and has continual traffic going past for people entering and leaving the restaurant, going to the loo and servers going to and from the kitchen. It is the worst table they have. During their refurbishment, you might have thought that they would have resolved the issues with this table or got rid of it. However they had not, and made a big issue about finding us another one, despite a more suitable table being clearly in view. The new management have now decided to charge for bread at the table, so my pate came with no bread. When we asked for some, we were served with three slices of the cheapest tasteless white bread you can imagine. For the main course I chose the 'cut of the day' which was rib eye. I asked for a medium rare, but what I got was something barely cooked and of poor quality. Presentation of all courses was however very good. Despite these issues, the service was good and we had an enjoyable evening, however on my first visit back since the refurbishment and new ownership, I have to say that Seckford Hall has gone backwards, not forwards. I do hope that the management will take note of these points as I used to really enjoy coming here, but at the moment I am sceptical about returning.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not accept being seated in the table I described
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Seckford Hall for dinner - it is good to learn that you found the service and food presentation to your liking during your visit.
You mention about the table layout in the restaurant - the table that I think you are referring to is indeed located next to a new screen which was introduced during the restaurant refurbishment as previously diner were able to see directly into and hear everything in the kitchen - I am pleased that the restaurant team were able to move you to another table of your liking during your meal. It is interesting as we have had some lovely feedback about the area which you refer to.
Our olive menu is designed to compliment the cocktail menu; our customer feedback was that they didn't necessarily want or need any accompaniments to drinks however I will discuss this further with our customers as a result of your comments. This area has only been open for a week and is the only bar whilst our Snug Bar is being renovated due to reopen at the end of the month.
I do hope that we see you again at Seckford Hall soon
With best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had lunch in the newly refurbished restaurant last week. The special offer lunch menu was very good value with 2 courses and a glass of wine. The only reason why we've not given 5 stars is the main course part of the menu is limited but quite understand this is part of a special price deal. Overall excellent surroundings, excellent service, and very good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for your review of the £15.30 lunch menu at Seckford Hall! It has already been well received with guests booking for the following week whilst still at their table!
See you again soon!
With best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Address: Off A12, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four star luxury hotel offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seckford Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.