We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory
Save
You added The Old Rectory to your Saves list
Campsea Ashe, Woodbridge IP13 0PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We recently spent 4 totally relaxing nights in the Maple Room at the Old Rectory. The old building and gardens are truly beautiful. A plus point for us is the welcome we get and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome - with tea and a friendly chat in the drawing room - even Hector & Trev (the gentle resident dogs) came to say hello! The beautiful Maple room looked out over the garden and church and was bathed in mellow light from the morning sun and the sound of birds singing ....what bliss. A leisurely breakfast was served in the lovely dining room, where the waitresses were obviously picked for their professionalism and friendliness. We were sorry to leave and hope one day to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    10
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Cant explain how wonderful this place is! , my fiancee burst into tears again once we arrived as this place holds some wonderful memories. The atmosphere is wonderful, lovely huge listed building with space and wonderful decor. Afternoon tea was lovely and included in the price as always, fresh and handmade when you want it , The owners and pets are wonderful , poor old hector followed us around wanting cuddels and we happily helped out. Game of cards by the fire in the lovely sitting room, fire and wine perfect combo (honesty bar). owers kept the fire going for us while we popped out for dinner. and also assisted with decoration for the breakfast table in the morning. and breakfast is wonderful! love the sausages! Once again, we have had a wonderful stay and sleep in the maple room and cant fault anything! we had the place all to ourselves and it was wonderful. Will return without fail!

Room Tip: Maple room , is snug , warm and the duvet is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here a few weekends ago with my family and I have to say, it was the perfect weekend retreat! My two daughters stayed in a room with two single beds which was perfect for the kids! Not to mention, the beds might have been the comfiest we've all slept in! The staff and owners were absolutely wonderful, and they made The Old Rectory feel like a second home! As spacious as it is cosy, my family and I really enjoyed ourselves, especially the delicious cooked breakfast, perfect on a winter morning.

To add to our lovely weekend, the surrounding area was full of idyllic beaches, great value pubs serving proper pub lunches, as well as various villages with shops and tea rooms that my whole family loved.

Our stay in Suffolk was wonderful, made perfect by the lovely atmosphere provided by the Old Rectory, we wouldn't not stay anywhere else if we get the chance to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Me and my husband, stayed at this charming property in early January. We were warmly welcomed by the owners who ensured we had everything we needed throughout our stay. We were shown to our room, which was extremely clean and well presented. It was very spacious with a super king size bed, sofa and large amounts of floor space. The en suite was also very large, with a bath and lovely dresser. It over looked the large garden and orchard at the back of the house, and we even caught the beautiful sunset in the evenings. There was also a large selection of teas, coffees and fresh milk for us to enjoy.
The rest of the property was exquisitely decorated, with a large open fire in the living room which was wonderful to sit in front of on a cold January evening. The breakfasts and food on offer were all locally sourced and tasted wonderful! We enjoyed breakfast in the large conservatory overlooking the garden, and the service was very quick, with staff being very helpful. There was a large variety on offer from cold to freshly cooked hot breakfasts.
We also ventured to a splendid little restaurant for lunch called the British Larder- well worth a visit.
The amenities on offer were excellent, with large orchards of Dahlias, fruit trees, and even a tennis court, which I'm sure would be even more wonderful in the summer months.
Overall the stay was extremely relaxing, with the friendly and inviting owners, a tranquil ambiance and the elegant surroundings, this truly felt like a home away from home. We are sure to be back for future visits!

Room Tip: The Oak room was extremely spacious with very large en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful weekend here. It was our first time here and all the staff were friendly and warm and made it a really comfortable stay. The Garden Cottage was our room of choice and it was beautifully furnished. The bathroom was was huge, with locally sourced soaps and shampoo provided. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was a warm welcome after our days out and about. It is located a short drive away from the beach and a lovely village littered with small charming shops. The Old Rectory was a delight to stay in and we will be making this a yearly tradition.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tredegar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had a great time here with very friendly staff. And two great owners who bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortably as possible. Lovely open fire in the sitting room was a welcome sight on the cold nights And a fantastic cooked breakfast as well. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We received a warm welcome and were treated to a superb breakfast from friendly and efficient staff. The two very friendly dogs were an added bonus to the welcome.

Stayed in the Oak room which turned out to be about the size of a tennis court with a huge, very comfortable bed, large bathroom and a decent sized TV. We wanted for nothing.

One night was not enough to fully appreciate all that the Old Rectory had to offer, well worth another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Campsea Ashe, Woodbridge IP13 0PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Woodbridge
Old Rectory Woodbridge
Old Rectory Hotel Woodbridge
The Old Rectory Woodbridge, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.