We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and restful time away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Rectory to your Saves list
The Old Rectory
Campsea Ashe, Woodbridge IP13 0PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingston upon Thames
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent and restful time away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have just come back from a night at the Old Rectory and what a treat we found. We were in Yew room and it was quite delightful. Spacious and comfortable, with a compact but beautifully presented bathroom. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was huge and gave a great nights sleep.

There is nothing to fault in this delightful retreat. We were greeted, as one should be with, "can I show you to your room and would you like some tea". We then sat and enjoyed an open fire with fresh cake and tea. The owners make a great deal out of making their guests feel comfortable and it really is great place to relax.



A short walk around the grounds gave us time to then enjoy a pre-dinner drink, a freshen up and all in time for supper in the main dining room. As a massive foodie my only observation would be that the supper was good home cooking without being overly pretentious or exceptional. An honesty bar and a great and sensible wine list added to the sense of enjoyment.

Breakfast in the morning was a joy with eggs from the hens, local sausages, bacon and mushrooms as well as delicious home-made muesli.

The area is wonderful for exploring and we had a thoroughly restful and enjoyable break. We will definitely be back for more and well done for providing a high quality and yet individual boutique break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    10
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
52
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We had a great time here - the house is beautiful and the breakfast superb - be sure to try the poached eggs laid by one of the hens in the garden! Another high point was the residents lounge with magazines and an open fire.
Everything was to a high standard, even fresh milk for the in-room tea and coffee.
The owner also gave us an upgrade as the place wasn't full, which was great.
Although we didn't bring children, there were two families staying and the place seemed pretty child-friendly.
We stayed in the Maple room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This beautiful, elegant old Rectory is the perfect setting in which to unwind after a busy week in the city. The setting is quiet and quintesssentially English with an ancient parish church right next door. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and on a grand old scale. The breakfasts are locally sourced, organic and highly tasty. Minsmere Bird Sanctuary, the coast and plenty of bracing walks are all easily within reach.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very individual so check their website for details. All are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Just returned from two nights at The Old Rectory, a delightful rambling house with large garden next to the church in Campsea Ashe. Tea and cake in front of a roaring fire in the sitting room was s wonderful welcome and the unfriendliness of the other couple sharing the room did nothing to dampen our spirits. I think at least saying 'hello' is basic B & B etiquette. Our room was the Garden Cottage, a bedroom with sitting room attached, large bathroom and entrance hallway, all very comfortably furnished. well equipped and warm on a cold evening. Bed comfortable, shower worked well, couldn't have asked for more. We had booked an evening meal and this was delightful - celeriac soup, rack of lamb and a very up-market fruit crumble, all cooked to perfection and very tasty. Breakfast was as it should be with home-made and locally sourced products and with my husband's benchmark for a good place to stay, tasty brown, ideally wholemeal, bread. For Saturday night our host recommended and booked a table for us at The Station in Framlingham, a charming scrubbed pine tables pub with really excellent and interesting food. We really could not have had a better time and as trips to Suffolk are something we do regularly, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Garden Cottage has disadvantage of having to go outside in order to get into the main house BUT is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Myself and 12 other ladies had the pleasure of staying at the Old Recotry last weekend and we were allhad a wonderful weekend. The owners and staff were very friendly and hospitable and accomodating. We had the place exclusivly and it really felt like a home from home. the food was fantastic and we all came away saying we would derfinitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My family rented out the whole hotel for my grandfather's 80th birthday and everything was brilliant: the rooms were nicely sized, the beds were very comfortable, the food was delicious ( breakfast, lunch and dinner) and the staff were amazing, always smiling, and ready to help and give whatever was needed.Top class people, beautifu place, would go back there any day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed here a few weeks ago for a short break. Lovely welcome and the touch of tea & cake was lovely. Our room was the Ash, over priced for its size and the photo's were very clever to disguise this lack of space. Cosy it was but not what we expected. The bed was lovely, a great nights sleep after touring around the area & taking in the sea air. The local taxi service is a nightmare, either can't get one or your robbed. We ventured to the near by restaurant The English Larder, great reviews and very well sold on their own website.But alsa, if you build yourself up so much you only have farther to fall, and they did tumble in our opinion. Food was lovely, but average pub fare at a price which you would expect better quality. The wine list is very well laid out, advice and recommendations.....but my do you pay well over the odds for a bottle that would easily sell for under a tenner in the supermarket. The cheapest bottle was about £18. We opted to eat out as the idea of dining in while appealing, not knowing what was on the menu we felt we could be commiting to a meal that didn't appeal to either of us, perhaps the proposed menu could be displayed at breakfast?
The breakfast, what a fantastic meal to set you up for the day, we even ventured to the butcher who supplied the sausages and purchased some to take home.
The biggest let down was the lack of a shower in the bathroom, there was a hand held shower, but only good to wash your hair over the side. I'm sure it wouldn't take much to equip the fittings with a holder and a shower curtain, the hose was plenty long enough??? We did pass this recommendation to the owner, and we felt perhaps it wasn't the first time she'd heard this...... So if you like to start your day with a shower and not a body contorting wash while flooding the floor DON'T book the Ash room. Oh and the family pets seem to have the run of the house??

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Campsea Ashe, Woodbridge IP13 0PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Woodbridge
Old Rectory Woodbridge
Old Rectory Hotel Woodbridge
The Old Rectory Woodbridge, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.