We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend this place to friends or book here again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown at Woodbridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Crown at Woodbridge to your Saves list
The Crown at Woodbridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thoroughfare | Market Hill, Woodbridge IP12 1AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would not recommend this place to friends or book here again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm sad to say that I would not recommend this place to friends or book this hotel again. I'm sad to write this review because this hotel could be so great and has so much potential. The worst thing about this hotel is the service. Before we booked this hotel, we'd noted that some negative reviews about the service but very positive reviews about the food., so we booked it anyway on the basis of the food, the rooms and the deal on offer at the time.

Part of the deal included mince pies and mulled wine on arrival. When we arrived, we had to walk into the bar and the small reception desk was tacked on to the end of the bar - not greatly obvious. We told the bar staff we had a booking and they fetched a member of staff to serve us. We checked in to our room which was really lovely (with a large bed, beautiful bathroom and ample storage), and headed back downstairs for a drink. The staff were not aware of this offer between 2nd Dec - 21st March and suggested that the offer may have ended. I mentioned that it was until the 21st March as I recalled the lady mentioning it over the phone and thinking it was odd but nice to still eat mince pies after Christmas, and the staff told me that he could not 'hand-make' the mince pies for me or 'heat up' any mulled wine because it had to be specially done by the chef and the chef had gone home that afternoon. I asked if he could possibly offer something else such as covering our drinks or something as we would probably not feel like having mince pies and mulled wine just before a 3-course dinner, and he told me he would check with the manager when they came back but that he didn't know when they'd be back. I thanked the staff and we bought some drinks and settled down on the comfy sofas in front of the bar. We didn't stay long in the bar because at this point, my husband was quite angry at the way the staff had treated me.

Whilst relaxing in the room, I read through the hotel literature and noted that there should be a flask of milk in the room for the tea and coffee which was absent - although it mentioned asking the staff if we wanted 'more', I was slightly apprehensive about asking them for anything, so decided to just have one after dinner.

We went down to dinner for the evening but overheard some guests talking about gas problems before we got to the bar. On arrival at the bar, the staff offered us a glass of champagne each without apology, to replace the missing mince pies and mulled wine. They then told us that there was no gas to the hotel that evening so they had a 'limited' menu. We overheard a number of guests saying they would go elsewhere to eat but our dinner was included in the deal so we had no choice but to dine in. We mix-and-matched a couple of items off the set and a la carte menu, as most things were crossed off. The meal was quite good but nothing 'exceptional' (I don't know if it would have been different if they had gas) and I was a little sad for not being able to try the 'full' menu on this special occasion.

After a hot drink and shower, we settled down to sleep but the room was swelteringly hot. We couldn't open the windows and the heating only seemed to come on at one setting. Although it was lovely, the 'heated' bathroom only contributed to the unbearable temperature in the room. My husband finally went downstairs to ask the staff at 02.00hrs in the morning if they could do anything about the suffocating temperature and they said that it was 'funny' (strange) because another guest had already gone down to complain about the heating earlier. They told my husband that there was nothing they could do because they didn't know how the heating system worked. My husband came back to the room in a foul mood but whilst he was gone, I managed to open the high windows about 30cms to get some form of air into the room. Needless to say, we woke up exhausted, dehydrated and 'on the wrong side of the bed' the next morning. We did however, have a lovely breakfast with lots of food and fresh bread (the gas was fixed before breakfast started).

Whilst I meandered back to the room, my husband filed a complaint with who I can only assume was the 'Duty Manager', as it wasn't Steve the Hotel Manager or his wife. During the complaint, the 'Duty Manager' took into account the comments made by her staff to me regarding the mince pies and mulled wine on arrival and agreed that it was inappropriate, saying that she would talk to her staff. We packed our bags and went back down to 'reception' to check-out, and very surprisingly the 'Duty Manager' THEN apologised for our less-than-satisfactory stay and offered to cover our drinks and refund us £30 of the room fee which we accepted with shocked thanks.

The next day we realised that we left a charger in the room so contacted the hotel, and they informed us they would e-mail us the cost of postage that day. We didn't receive any e-mails and so chased the hotel a week later. They told us that the total cost of a jiffy bag plus postage was £3.05 and after taking payment over the phone, put the item in the post to us.

Overall our experience of this hotel and its' staff has been terrible and only ONE member of staff (older experienced barman) in the entire team seemed to genuinely enjoy and take pride in his work. I felt bad that my husband felt disappointed, guilty and sad that this 'romantic weekend treat' that he'd carefully planned and researched, turned out so badly but in the end we put it down to an 'adventure' that we would definitely not come back to or recommend it to any of our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge. We are now operating under new management and hope that you will return and give us another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    56
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
96
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Crown with my boyfriend and can hardly find anything bad to say about it at all. The rooms are beautiful and simple - lots of neutrals and lovely individual furniture. The bathrooms are divine and full of luxurious looking toiletries and my favourite part is that they supply you with still and sparkling water, and fresh milk, which seems to be quite rare. Full menus for all meals were supplied along with plenty of books about local villages.
On to dinner - SO good. My boyfriend still won't shut up about the duck he ordered and I can't help but feel that whatever you order here would be pretty good. The portions were generous and the service good but not obtrusive. Good wine menu and even better cocktail menu - though there was only one member of staff who was trained to make these and she wasn't there on our first night (it might be worth training the other bar staff?). We sat in different rooms each night, both by the window, and it was a lovely atmosphere.
Breakfast is good, with lots of fresh produce and choice.
My only (very minor) complaint is that when we checked out, we were overcharged on the basis that we'd booked on the mid-week offer (£270 for two night dinner, bed and breakfast), and the lady dealing with us didn't seem to know anything about it. She ended up in a bit of an awkward position until another member of staff confirmed it with her - it's a minor point and an accident but it would have saved a good 10 minutes and a great deal of embarrassment on her part if there was a memo or a code or something.
Anyway, overall, loved it here. Definitely returning asap.

Room Tip: Make sure you book tables in advance - even in the week it's busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We'd stayed here a year ago and wanted to go back again after a great Summer stay. Woodbridge is a nice town and the creek of the River Deben is a great walking area... it is tidal and at low tide attracts lots of birdlife - and even if you're not a birdy type it's still stunning. the hotel is an old pub that has been given the 'boutique' renovation, to good effect. Rooms are lovely, modern and chic. Excellent staff - the woman who runs front of house is excellent and installs a friendly,positive attitude in the whole team. Food is excellent - lots of locally sourced top quality and carefully selected produce. Clever wine list with lots of really interesting recommendations - value and top end splash out stuff. Our second stay and very very good again.

Room Tip: Just ask that teh room does not look over the kitchens or extractor fan - it's a smallish pub th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had a most enjoyable stay at The Crown. The food, rooms, staff and service were all faultless. To add more, the location was simply perfect. In particular, one member of staff - Tim, if I recall correctly, did his utmost to help us navigate the area and make us feel like welcome and valued guests.
I cannot recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Get the room with the big free-standing bath and the Amazon rain shower head. The toiletries are fabulous. There's fresh milk and exotic teas, coffees and hot chocolate. The decor is tasteful seaside. The breakfast is organic and locally sourced. The bar is cozy and has a fire with high-backed sofas for privacy. The bed is comfortable! Just do it.

Room Tip: Ask for the bath. Try to get a back room as they're quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Another visit to Woodbridge and another stay at the Crown - looking rather tired in the bar area but the rooms are still excellent, very clean and lovely toiletries . Staff were slow at check-in and a little disinterested behind the bar.
However the restaurant more than made up for any disappointments - even though there were problems with gas and a restricted menu, the food was excellent and the waitress (Kelly )was most attentive. Well done again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was v disappointing that children are not accepted. We are a well behaved young family with dog but had to go elsewhere. I under stand that the restrictions are to do with mixing dogs with kids but seem exaggerated.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge. We are now operating under new management and hope that you will return and give us another try. All Children Welcome including big ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown at Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Woodbridge

Address: Thoroughfare | Market Hill, Woodbridge IP12 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown at Woodbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown in Woodbridge offers all that is great about escaping to the country, with all that is good about staying in a wonderful market town. With old fashioned inn keeping in a modern setting, we boast ten magnificent boutique bedrooms, a bustling bar and a real Suffolk food experience. Situated at the end of the thoroughfare in the heart Woodbridge, we are ideally situated for all of the great things that the town, surrounding countryside and Suffolk coast have to offer. If your passion is walking, sailing, horse riding or you simply have a love of good food and drink, you will find it all at The Crown and nearby area. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Head chef Luke Bailey showcases all that is great about Suffolk's local produce, reflected in our food offering that includes a mix of rustic and refined dishes, with simple, high-quality ingredients coming alive on the plate. Our bustling cocktail bar serves everything from local beers and ciders to the latest trend cocktails. We also have an extensive and well-balanced wine list that appeals to all tastes and preferences, reflecting our passion for high-quality wine. Long or short, sharp or smooth, there is sure to be a drink to suit your mood. The upstairs of our historic building has been transformed into luxurious yet affordable bedroom retreats, created by award-winning London based designers, Bentheim. With goose-down pillows, crisp cotton bed linen and underfloor heating with high-quality toiletries and personal touches to match, staying at The Crown is a enchantingly relaxing and satisfying experience. With a laidback and often thriving atmosphere, where traditional meets modern and rural meets cosmopolitan, you are sure to have a unique and highly memorable experience, whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown at Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Woodbridge Hotel Woodbridge
Crown Hotel Woodbridge
The Crown At Woodbridge Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown at Woodbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.