We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG, it's fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown at Woodbridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Crown at Woodbridge to your Saves list
The Crown at Woodbridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thoroughfare | Market Hill, Woodbridge IP12 1AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“OMG, it's fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Get the room with the big free-standing bath and the Amazon rain shower head. The toiletries are fabulous. There's fresh milk and exotic teas, coffees and hot chocolate. The decor is tasteful seaside. The breakfast is organic and locally sourced. The bar is cozy and has a fire with high-backed sofas for privacy. The bed is comfortable! Just do it.

Room Tip: Ask for the bath. Try to get a back room as they're quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
83
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Another visit to Woodbridge and another stay at the Crown - looking rather tired in the bar area but the rooms are still excellent, very clean and lovely toiletries . Staff were slow at check-in and a little disinterested behind the bar.
However the restaurant more than made up for any disappointments - even though there were problems with gas and a restricted menu, the food was excellent and the waitress (Kelly )was most attentive. Well done again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

It was v disappointing that children are not accepted. We are a well behaved young family with dog but had to go elsewhere. I under stand that the restrictions are to do with mixing dogs with kids but seem exaggerated.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge. We are now operating under new management and hope that you will return and give us another try. All Children Welcome including big ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

There are many positive points about this restaurant. The decor is imaginative and carefully done and the waiting staff were attentive and polite, Whist the food was good, I think it was pricey for what we ate. £6 for a smallsh,not really hot bowl of soup is a little overpriced in my view, although it was pleasant. I then had the "Superfood" option. £7 ish for a small portion of what was largely onion. However, another of our party did have a good sized portion of mac & cheese.
It may be that I am out of touch with prices but I have eaten just as good food for a lot less.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge. We are now operating under new management and hope that you will return and give us another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We only had lunch at the Crown, it was the second time I had been there I wondered if the first time was a fluke but no, the menu was varied and the food was excellent both of us were impressed with the service and the quality of the meal, it was excellent. Only a main course, but what we had really was very good, ladies wot lunch you know so no puds!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We only had a meal here, so review is only about the restaurant. We had a lovely meal (3 of us & all different food) & the staff were very friendly & helpful.
The toffee apple & pecan tart however, needs a special mention as it was delicious.
I will definitely return on another visit to Woodbridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent a relaxed evening in the restaurant of The Crown, food choice was excellent and varied with option of set menu. Really lovely food, well presented and very flavoursome.

I cannot understand why the restaurant was so quiet...wished I lived closer to be able to enjoy more often.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown at Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Woodbridge

Address: Thoroughfare | Market Hill, Woodbridge IP12 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown at Woodbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown in Woodbridge offers all that is great about escaping to the country, with all that is good about staying in a wonderful market town. With old fashioned inn keeping in a modern setting, we boast ten magnificent boutique bedrooms, a bustling bar and a real Suffolk food experience. Situated at the end of the thoroughfare in the heart Woodbridge, we are ideally situated for all of the great things that the town, surrounding countryside and Suffolk coast have to offer. If your passion is walking, sailing, horse riding or you simply have a love of good food and drink, you will find it all at The Crown and nearby area. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Head chef Luke Bailey showcases all that is great about Suffolk's local produce, reflected in our food offering that includes a mix of rustic and refined dishes, with simple, high-quality ingredients coming alive on the plate. Our bustling cocktail bar serves everything from local beers and ciders to the latest trend cocktails. We also have an extensive and well-balanced wine list that appeals to all tastes and preferences, reflecting our passion for high-quality wine. Long or short, sharp or smooth, there is sure to be a drink to suit your mood. The upstairs of our historic building has been transformed into luxurious yet affordable bedroom retreats, created by award-winning London based designers, Bentheim. With goose-down pillows, crisp cotton bed linen and underfloor heating with high-quality toiletries and personal touches to match, staying at The Crown is a enchantingly relaxing and satisfying experience. With a laidback and often thriving atmosphere, where traditional meets modern and rural meets cosmopolitan, you are sure to have a unique and highly memorable experience, whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown at Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Woodbridge Hotel Woodbridge
Crown Hotel Woodbridge
The Crown At Woodbridge Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown at Woodbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.