We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you love trying different Gin's (over 100 different bottles)!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Angel

The Angel
Theatre Street, Woodbridge IP12 4NE, England
01394 383808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 82 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cambridge
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must if you love trying different Gin's (over 100 different bottles)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stopped at this roadside pub on our journey home after a lovely Valentine’s weekend break and what a surprise it was – the husband and wife who run the pub offer an incredible extensive range of Gin’s, over 100 different bottles!

We were amazed at the different blends on offer, the majority of which we had never heard of, and at the detailed knowledge the they had about any of the Gin’s we asked about. We eventually tried the Adnams First Rate and ‘Liff’ Gin, with tonic of course.

It also had welcoming log fires in both sides of the pub.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Cosy & Friendly with good value pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We popped in, without booking, for a late midweek lunch. I hadn't been here before, but my wife had had previously had a good solo lunch here.

Warm, friendly and efficient welcome from the young barman, who pointed out there were spaces on the other side of the pub. Very comfortable atmosphere with sofas, variety of chairs and clearly a popular pub with interaction between customers and staff. We looked at the menu and and the barman brought over a board with today's specials. It was very much pub, rather than "gastropub" food, but both dishes we had were well presented, tasty and very good value. Their selection of gins and mixers is truly impressive, and any gin enthusiast must visit. Their wine sheet was perfect for the place - small but well chosen selection of very reasonably priced wines. I just had a glass of their "house" red, which was good.
So this was a very enjoyable quick and simple lunch, in very comfortable surroundings, at a great price. The place has personality, so that is why we would come back here rather than go to a national chain pizza place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“How pubs used to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good beer, a welcoming landlord and landlady, no machines, good food, roaring fire in the winter months, occasionally the odd music session, welcomed if you stop just for quick pint or a longer session. Better than just good pub grub.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMapey, Owner at The Angel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words & taking time to submit a review for The Angel.

Hope to see you back here again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“quaint rustic pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

stopped in for a lunchtime drink and stayed for 3 lunchtime menu was wonderful , close to a riverside walk and town centre.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great food, we had lunch over Christmas/New Year there and it was very reasonably priced. Friendly staff and good service. Will definately go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMapey, Owner at The Angel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about The Angel.

Hope to see you here again soon

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angel also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.