We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Found Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Potash Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Potash Barns
Save
You added Potash Barns to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   The Street | Brundish, Woodbridge IP13 8BL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I Found Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Well where do I start. This is the most amazing place to stay.

Claire and her Family made us feel very welcome. The home made food was wonderful.
The main building is beautiful, with plenty of comfy seating and an open fire place.
The rooms are clean and well presented, with a nice country - warm feeling to them.
The bathrooms are very nice.
If you are on retreat, the yoga studio is excelent, with wonderful views of the country side.
There are a few 'Farm Yard Friends' too, with goats, some sheep, a pony and a lovely little cat called LG.
There is a nice garden area for children.
If you are looking for a country stay with loved ones or a retreat location for Yoga or Meditation, this place ticks every box.

The location is great, with some lovely villages nearby and beautiful country walks.

I look forward to returning next year. Colin

Room Tip: The rooms were all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just returned from another fabulous yoga retreat at Potash Barns. Thanks to Claire, Dave and the family for looking after us all again so well with your brunches and suppers interspersed into our programme of yoga. Not to mention the homemade cakes and lovely touches. The accommodation is perfect for the yoga weekends, with us having the whole place and it being in such a beautiful, rural, tranquil location. Practising yoga overlooking the lambs in the field below is just lovely. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A beautifully peaceful rural location for a yoga retreat. Delicious vegetarian food cooked by Claire for brunch & dinner. Fresh eggs, fruit & smoothies for breakie. Cosy communal lounge area in front of the woodburner stove for tea, cake & wine. The yoga studio is upstairs in a converted barn overlooking fields - perfect for mindful practice & meditation. Within half hour drive of the coast. Goats, chickens, ponies, lambs on site all add to the charm.

thankyou. See you in february for the next one

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I took my young family to Potash Barns for a long weekend. We were greeted warmly by the very friendly owners and their family . The accommodation was very good with 'the little things' you don't normally get all being included in the price. The kids loved it , getting to feed the young lambs by bottle and helping out with the chickens , ducks , goats and horses . Not forgetting the play area with the biggest trampoline I've seen (which I couldn't resist a go on) . We were advised to get a Tesco delivery for anything we needed which was a great idea, and we proceeded to have a wonderful weekend visiting a few local places of interest (recommended by the owners) and some restaurants for some great food. We are already planning a return visit with a view to hiring the whole place for a big family outing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: we stayed as a family of 4 in goat willow , which was perfect for our needs .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My second visit to Potash barns (both for yoga but that aside as this review is about the accommodation). The main barn is a high quality restoration with focus on comfort , traditional charm and workable spaces - roomy sofas, log burners, dual kitchens, central communal lounge/ dining hall, smaller lounges, garden areas....Works really well for a group either gathered together for a yoga weekend or a large / several family holiday. There is another smaller barn conversion - similar in standard, games room, yoga / similar studio looking out over the Suffolk countryside. Very clean throughout.
Horses, goats etc dotted around.
Highlight - the food. Many bookings are self catering but on both occasions I have been part of a party that has had meals included and the food is superb. Vegetarian but hugely diverse with morroccan, indian, sri Lankan, Mediterranean, plus some hearty traditional british soups to name a few..... excellent home cooking with great ingredients - superb!
Hard to fault the welcome and discreet hospitality throughout.
Worth the extra time it takes to find the place across the quiet, winding roads of Suffolk

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Our family have just spent a wonderful, relaxing week at Potash Barns. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, had all home comforts and was filled with charm and character. Our children loved the games room, play area and animals. The owners were extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. Potash Barns are ideally located and we visited Aldeburgh, Southwold, Sutton Hoo, Snape Maltings and Framlingham, all within easy reach by car. The week was one definitely one of our most enjoyable family holidays and we can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

As a family we hired the whole place and it enabled us to have a lovely time. The accomodation provided a charming venue for a large family and a lovely location, but we had various reservations and, as pleasant as it is, it does not represent 4 star value (we were even told we had to strip our own beds on leaving!). The owners were friendly and helpful, though having paid a significant amount to hire both buildings for self catering, we were surprised at a further charge for the wood burner (£30) and 2 broken glasses, particularly in view of some of the shortcomings

Pros:
- spacious and attractive accomodation
- very warm; large, comfy beds,
- adequate facilities and well equipped kitchens
- clean - admirably so given the number of beams and difficulty of cleaning them, (though bed mattress, pillows had obvious stains and protectors needed cleaning)
- lovely location
- able to accomodate large families/groups
- great baths, though showers more problematic to control temperature when getting in

Cons:
- mattress and pillows seen better times with stains on both and pillows should be replaced, protector covers needed a wash;
- major issues with sound privacy (voices pass easily through walls, noisy floorboards which caused sleep problems for some adults and children and reduced late night talks to whispers;
- design, layout, health and safety issues, some serious (an obstacle course in places) - 2 people struck unseen obstacles in car park at night through lack of lighting/warning (one person almost fell into border, another stumbled and hurt shoulder and arm badly; bedside table stuck out into entrance route to bedroom causing knocks, shower steps caused trips accessing it; low beam in bedroom resulted in knocked head - these aspects are not acceptable; difficulty locating light switches at night as they're not always obvious by the doors (which is potentially dangerous)
- as loos are only upstairs they were difficult for older family members;
- one of the kitchens in main building, a small galley style one, is right by the dining area and also provides the only access between the main lounge and a small one/2 bedrooms/toilets/bathroom making it a busy thoroughfare and a ridiculously difficult and hazardous kitchen to work in as result;
- lacks conspicuous and helpful notices e.g cooker operation problematic, recycling practice not immediately obvious to everyone;
- insufficient towels (and no hand towels, only bath) led to regular requests then owners ran out of fresh ones, lack of places to hang and air towels;
- painfully slow internet access made the internet virtually worthless and proved very inconvenient - this really needs to be addressed. We stayed during very bad weather and were unable to access travel info through the internet because it was too poor
- very patchy mobile phone signal too
- tiny televisions (20"?) - felt a bit silly when 10 of us were huddled around
- lack of decent radio/music set up;
- one food mixer didn't work properly, one dishwasher malfunctioned and filter needed attention;

Bottom line: a nice venue, no doubt better to stay in Summer, but didn't live up to 4 star promise and service, and the health and safety issues caused real problems - also, when the whole venue is hired, the wood for burning should be included as part of the deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Potash Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potash Barns

Address: The Street | Brundish, Woodbridge IP13 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Woodbridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Potash Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Potash Barns Woodbridge, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potash Barns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.