We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thatched Farm Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thatched Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Thatched Farm Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Woodbridge Rd | Waldringfield, Woodbridge IP12 4PW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What a lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We only had a couple of nights, but that was enough for us to realise that it was a great B & B. As we drove into the grounds that first evening we could see that we had made a good choice and soon the accommodation and breakfasts were to confirm that feeling. Helen made us very welcome and the location of Thatched Farm was great for exploring the southern end of Suffolk. We would readily recommend it to anyone.
Geoff and Kay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed a stay at Thatched Farm. The house was delightful so beautiful and tastefully decorated. By far the best B & B we have ever stayed in. The gardens were beautiful and it was peaceful and quiet. Helen was a great hostess and was so helpful and friendly. The bedroom was very clean and fresh linen. Our stay was finished off with a good full english breakfast. If and when we have to return to Woodbridge we would always book with Helen. Thank you Helen for your wonderful hospitality. We can thoroughly recommend Helen's B & B.Carole & Steve Massey.

Room Tip: We slept in the old part of the house in one of the lovely bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

my husband surprised me for our 3rd anniversary with 2 nights away staying in the ground floor accommodation. I was a little nervous as I can be picky but what can I say. the farm is beautiful and I was so surprised driving up to it. Helen welcomed us with smiles and was very nice. our accommodation was lovely because it isn't just a room that you stay in, its great that you have a separate sitting area and bathroom. the food was delicious and the grounds were lovely. one thing im particular about is clean sheets and when we got into bed they smelt divine. there are so many places to visit. we visited aldebrugh. that was a great day out. probably helped with the sun shining. I couldn't have asked for more with my stay. its great to have a service that is so friendly. we shall be returning but this time with our son and staying in a cottage.
thankyou Helen!
Sachia & Daniel Prince

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having seen great reviews for this place we weren't disappointed - it's really head and shoulders above most B&Bs we've stayed at. The owner is friendly and helpful, the house and gardens splendid without being stuffy, the accommodation comfortable, and the breakfast very good. It couldn't have been a better start to our birthday weekend. Moreover, it is very reasonably priced, and we were given a tip for the British Larder, which serves some of the most delicious food we've had in ages!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A stunning location - wonderful gardens with plenty of chairs and benches for the odd gin and tonic. Immaculate accommodation with tasteful furnishings and everything you need provided. Helen does a mighty fine breakfast too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the Thatched Farm whilst on business in Ipswich. It's in a fantastic country location. The hospitality was excellent and the breakfast awesome. Helen was the perfect host. I will definitely stay again with the family to explore Suffolk.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed there with my partner and we absolutely loved it. Inside the house you get beautifully furnished rooms with tea/coffee making facility and your private bathroom. On the outside you have large well maintained gardens, truly lovely and peaceful. Woodbridge is 10mins drive away and so were some other local pubs Helen the owner recommended. Breakfast was not to be missed!

Room Tip: Ground floor studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thatched Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatched Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Woodbridge Rd | Waldringfield, Woodbridge IP12 4PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatched Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful open countryside just outside Woodbridge this 17th century Suffolk Farmhouse is just 5 mins from shops, pubs for dining, golf, the river Deben and the A12 to explore Suffolk.. 2 Pretty double rooms available for Bed and Breakfast. 1 Ground floor room with ensuite - a pet is welcome. 1 Upstairs room with private bathroom/shower. Both rooms have TV and Coffee/Tea facilities. Both have their own private breakfast/sitting area. Beautiful 2 acre gardens for you to wander and sit in. Laundry room on site. Free Wifi. Off road parking. Bicycle storage. Ample breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thatched Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatched Farm Bed And Breakfast Woodbridge, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thatched Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.