We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis, with croissants and dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Granary Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Granary Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Granary Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hall Farm Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
St. Ives, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“An oasis, with croissants and dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is now our first choice in the area. A lovely, comfortable room; a great location; and a world-beating breakfast. A tray of croissants, bagels and toast, and amazing fresh berries and yoghurt with delicious nutty granola. The sort of bed linens that encourage you to linger under the duvet...hard-boiled eggs from their very own collection of hens...pheasants wandering about the garden as if they owned the place, and a very friendly dog keeping an eye on proceedings. The owners really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. I keep using that word, and I think 'comfort' is perhaps what sums up The Granary best...everything about it seems tailor-made to make you feel comfortable in every way. I haven't even touched on the super-clean rooms or the excellent value! Great place to stay which I cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bouleshs, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your very generous review; we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time, you must try the pancakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

... but not too far from the best Suffolk has to offer. A lovely converted barn just right for a weekend get-away for two - and with some style. Comfortable, spacious and above all warm and cosy. I need not repeat the comments regarding breakfast except to say sadly you'll never buy the granola Leah serves. Talented and charming hosts both. We'll return if visiting the east coast again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bouleshs, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and for your kind comments. Leah is delighted you liked the Granary Granola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Julian and Leah were great hosts who made us feel welcome from the instant we met. The room's location in the restored granary, separated from the main house, was very private, quiet and peaceful. It was a very comfortable room. Julian provided suggestions for area pubs and restaurants. The two we tried on his advice were very good choices. The breakfasts were outstanding and served each morning in the room. After staying at several B&B's in other parts of the country during our tour of England, the fresh fruit, homemade granola, yogurt and fresh croissants/ breads were a welcome change from the usual full English breakfast. This B&B was perfect for our brief visit to Suffolk. Should we ever return to further explore the area, we will most certainly want to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bouleshs, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Definitely our favourite Pennsylvanians. Thanks for your very kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This truly is a sublime experience. Julian and Leah are wonderful people and hosts. The grounds are beautiful. The b and b is full of character and charm, amazing ambience and attention to detail. Warm, lovely welcome and a divine breakfast. Woodbridge and great bealings are such lovely places and the dog at grundisburgh is a must visit. We can not recommend the granary highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bouleshs, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are so pleased you had a good stay. The Dog is obviously wagging its tail as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Met by the most charming owner and made to feel at home instantly. Really beautiful location and pretty easy to find (with Satnav). Some lovely pubs - was recommended The Dog nearby which served a wonderful lunch. Very comfortable room with the most superb breakfast, all locally sourced, served in our room. We wished we could have stayed longer but had to get back to the 3 kids!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bouleshs, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
It's great to hear from seasoned travellers that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of wight
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A trip down Memory Lane visiting Felixstowe (haunt of many childhood family holidays)
decided to see more of the area and happened upon the Granary, It fully deserves the excellent reviews, friendly welcome with a cup of tea. only wish we had had longer here, beautiful room with curtains that kept out the light, bliss
breakfast has me planning a visit to the healthfood shop to make my own Granola
exceptionaly good value

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our experience at the Granary was a pure pleasure from start to finish. We have just returned from a 6 night stay with Julian and Leah. During this time we were attending job interviews, finding a place to live as well as enjoying a forray or two into the Suffolk countryside. Yet despite the number of 'jobs' we had to get done this week, our stay at the Granary always felt like a holiday thanks to Julian and Leah's warm and friendly attitude.

The bed and breakfast is situated halfway between Ipswich and Woodbridge, and is surrounded by some of the most beautiful countryside you will ever see. It is so peaceful, and the only noise which can be heard is the birdsong in the fields, which were strewn with wildflowers. Idyllic does not come close to describing the beauty of this place.

The room is self-contained, with stunning decor (including some of Leah's own ceramic artworks) and clean, modern facilities. Every day there were fresh scented flowers from the garden placed in a vase in the room; a small detail to some perhaps, but one which epitomises the absolute care and attention to detail which Leah and Julian invest in The Granary. Coming back to the room every day truly felt like we were coming back home.

The bed itself was so soft and comfy, we slept very very well for the enitre week. There is a small fridge containing fresh milk (no UNT sachets!) which is replaced every day as well as tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fruit teas. However, this is just the start. The breakfast is certainly the best we have ever had: the homemade spiced granola, yoghurt, fresh berries from the garden, freshly laid eggs from the chickens as well as toast and pastries were delicious. The full English with local produce and pancakes provided a tasty treat mid-week. All this was delivered to our room with a smile and served in some of Leah's beautiful ceramics on the neat little dining table; we could not have asked for more. This self-contained aspect again adds to the general feeling of peace and restfulness which characterises The Granary as a whole. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were sorry to leave.

The picturesque setting in rural Suffolk, Leah and Julian's friendliness and their sheer dedication to not only providing a fantastic service, but also a truly perfect experience, mean that we would not hesistate in recommending the Granary to anyone looking for a truly relaxing break in the East Anglian countryside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will drop in as soon as you are settled into your new home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Granary Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granary Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hall Farm Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Granary Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy, comfortable and welcoming:- stylish converted barn with en-suite double bedroom £75 per night, adjoining Leah Hinks' Ceramics Studio, in the grounds of our home. Only 1 mile from Woodbridge, in the beautiful village of Great Bealings. An Area of Special Landscape amidst rolling water meadows; the peaceful Suffolk countryside surrounds us. Generous breakfasts, wool carpets, central heating, en-suite shower room and a king size bed with 2000 pocket sprung mattress, means you can have a relaxing stay, home from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Granary Bed And Breakfast Woodbridge, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Granary Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.