We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Six stars needed"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Granary Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Granary Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Granary Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hall Farm Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Six stars needed"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I wish it was possible to give more than five stars for this outstanding B&B (though to call it a B&B is almost to do it a disservice!). The standard of the room and breakfast, and the warm friendly welcome, are what you'd expect from a top quality hotel. Complete peace and privacy, charming hosts, exquisite breakfast, and all in glorious rural surroundings. And all for £70!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bouleshs, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Crikey, how kind - we really enjoy having such nice people to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Leah and Julian were the perfect hosts we stayed 5 nights in april, a great time we had, the breakfast was the tops, excellent value , superb accomodation , very peaceful, we are returning in two weeks , for more pancakes,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bouleshs, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thanks for your kind comments. We are looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We loved our two night stay over the Easter weekend. Owners, Julian and Leah, made us feel very welcome. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was delicious. We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bouleshs, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thanks very much, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

The owners are a very friendly welcoming couple, the room was very nicely decorated, very clean and private (nice to be away from the house)
The barn sits in a peaceful spot in the garden, there is alot to see in the area we went to Woodbridge in the evening of our arrival and had fish and chips over looking the estuary.
The breakfast was fantastic! I loved the home made granola which was served with yogurt and fresh fruit, all beautifully presented.
This place is a real treat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bouleshs, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
Thanks - very kind of you. We hope the breakfast wasn't too fatal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Myself and a friend stayed at the Granary two weeks ago (early April 2011) on our first ever trip to Suffolk.

We chose the Granary as we had read nothing but good feedback on this website and the rate per night was very reasonable. (I remained sceptical about the quality prior to arriving as the price seemed too good to be true).

Upon arrival we were greeted by Julian, who along with his wife Leah, were incredible hosts. They were very helpful when advising us where to eat out locally in the evening and even managed to get us a table at the Dog pub despite it already being fully booked.

The room itself and the surrounding area were stunning. It's clear that Julian and Leah have spared no expense when decorating the room (which is in a separate building from the main house). Never ever have I stayed in a B&B that is decorated to such a high standard.

For me, the highlight of my stay at the Granary was breakfast. This was served in our room at a time that we specified the night before. It was an absolute FEAST! Granola and yoghurt with berries, toast, eggs laid that morning (by chickens that were round the back of the Granary) and delicious plain and chocolate croissants. Not only was the breakfast delicious, but it was also beautifully presented.

In summary, the Granary offers cosy and high quality accommodation, with faultless hosts, and wonderful breakfast, all for a very competive price. I'd certainly stay there again if I ever make a return visit to Suffolk.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bouleshs, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
That's very kind of you, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Lovely room in converted barn so private & quiet. Breakfast served in room (luxury) and wonderful welcome (including scones, jam & cream!) Shame we could only stay one night. We'll be back......

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bouleshs, Owner at The Granary Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

If you are looking for a restful, peaceful, calm, and welcoming rural retreat, you will be hard pushed to find anywhere finer than this. The setting is charming, the hosts warm and welcoming, and the accommodation is very comfortable, stylish; a genuine expression of the owners’ tastes, it abounds with thoughtful touches such as a selection of herbal, black and green teas, filter coffee, and an artistic eye is apparent in the details such as the decorative coat hooks, vintage pieces of furniture with ornate replacement knobs and suchlike. The vaulted ceiling and exposed beams only serve to add to the character. In fact it looks just as it does on the web-site, warm and inviting.

The breakfast itself is superb; the best breakfast I have had in England. Firstly, it is served in the room which is a treat enough in itself, but it is the quality of produce, and again, those thoughtful, artistic touches which make it special; vintage silverware, some of the ceramic items handmade by Leah herself, homemade jams, beautifully fresh fruits, eggs from their own chickens, and not to mention a whole stack of Leah’s homemade pancakes!

Unusually for me I cannot fault this place, and am already counting down the days until my next stay there!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Granary Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granary Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hall Farm Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Granary Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy, comfortable and welcoming:- stylish converted barn with en-suite double bedroom £75 per night, adjoining Leah Hinks' Ceramics Studio, in the grounds of our home. Only 1 mile from Woodbridge, in the beautiful village of Great Bealings. An Area of Special Landscape amidst rolling water meadows; the peaceful Suffolk countryside surrounds us. Generous breakfasts, wool carpets, central heating, en-suite shower room and a king size bed with 2000 pocket sprung mattress, means you can have a relaxing stay, home from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Granary Bed And Breakfast Woodbridge, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Granary Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.