We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Race Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rutland Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rutland Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Rutland Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 High St, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Newmarket
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Race Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 2 night stay and hotel was great. Perfect location, checked in very early no problem or charge as room was ready. Breakfast was good although dining room was very messy, seems not enough staff to clear up but only a small issue. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your visit to the Newmarket Races and your stay with us, I do hope you will stay again soon,

Kind regards

Emma Dall

P.s Book direct for the best rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    100
    42
    35
    24
See reviews for
33
107
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

A very quirky old building is at the heart of this hotel, it rambles all over the place and one could quite easily become lost! The staff were lovely, a real credit to the hotel, The breakfast menu was extensive with something for everyone, we found the full English much too greasy but that is perhaps just our taste. The room we had was adequate, we found the bed very hard and the chairs uncomfortable. Our only serious complaint was the cleanliness of the bathroom: there was black mould and grime under the taps and fluff in the corners on the floor. The car park was free but somewhat tricky to get into with a large car, watch out for the brick walls and tight corners!
We might stay there again as it is very handily placed for all the horsey activities in Newmarket including the free shuttle bus to the racecourse. we will go there in a smaller car though!

Room Tip: Room 152 overlooked the courtyard where the smokers gather to chat at all hours so could be noisy if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for spending the time and writing a review, pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I have taken on board your comments about the bathroom and have spoken with the housekeeping team, apologises for this, 152 is at the back of the building over looking the courtyard were it is very rare to get noise.

I do hope you will stay again soon,

Kind regards

Emma Dall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife & I stayed at The Rutland in February for a two night stop over and it was just the most lovely place to stay. As soon as we walked through the door we were made to feel really welcome by all of the staff and our room was a timber beamed double room with en suite and a gorgeous round window overlooking Newmarket town centre (you can also see the racehorses being led out for their early morning run from this window!)
The room was nicely appointed and the en suite was of a good size too, and to sit by the round window with a coffee was just great.
Breakfast was delicious (plenty of toast with my full English!) and in the evening we ventured into the hotel bar for a couple of drinks, bar staff were friendly which made a change from a couple of other hotel bars we had been to recently. Finished off the night in the restaurant and we both went for something called deconstructed corned beef hash(!) which was fantastic and to say the least filling.
This hotel had a lovely feel to it, lots of creaky floorboards, timber beams and a cobbled courtyard, we loved it!

Room Tip: Do try the restaurant, food was delicious and if you can, get the top room with the round window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for spending the time and writing such a lovely review of your stay, I really hope you do visit again soon,

Kind regards

Emma Dall

P.s Dont forget to book direct for the best rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A quick night away and we have to say we enjoyed our brief stay.
Our room was in the newer part of the hotel, so we did have a fair few steps to navigate. However the room was clean and we had no issues with outside noise. The room doors themselves tend to bang shut......minor point.
The staff were friendly on all meetings with them,nice and relaxed.
Breakfast was a quick affair...maybe a bit too rushed. We had hardly sat at our table, when we had to order any hot items. We like to sit with cereal/juice and maybe even fruit,for a little before having to decide. Seemed a waste to have a cold selection when there was no time to think about eating any. (There was a wedding party staying,so maybe they wanted the kitchen clear for their orders?).
We thought the cobbled court yard was lovely....... even in April, siting outside was pleasant.
Would we go back? Yes possibly .

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues........PLEASE speak to the hotel direct........LOTS of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review about your stay with us sorry you found breakfast rushed unfortunately at the weekends everyone tends to come down for breakfast at the same time we are currently looking at ways to improve this,
I do hope we will see you again soon

Kind regards

Emma Dall

Ps book direct to get the best rate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We enjoyed very enjoyable short break at the Rutland Arms. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff were exceptionally kind and helpful. We would be happy to stay at the hotel again. The only slight disappointment were the breakfasts. The hotel is centrally situated and makes a good base for visiting around the area.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel can be quite noisy in the early mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for writing a lovely review so pleased you enjoyed your short break with us and I do hope you will visit again soon,

Kind regards

Emma Dall

P.S book direct for the best rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have stayed at the Rutland quite a few times over the last couple of years. It's always interesting to see where we will end up- my favourite room is at the top with the round window looking towards the Gallops. It is an old building and this gives it character but does mean that you have to accept the idiosyncrasies as well. The food is always very good and we have had some excellent family dinners in the restaurant. The last time we stayed I felt that the rooms were very overpriced but generally it has been good value and I would and have recommended it as a place to stay in Newmarket.
There has obviously been improvement work done since Bespoke took over and I hope that the bar is one of the areas they will look at. Considering that it is right on the High Street there is very little atmosphere and generally very few customers despite the radio and snooker table. Staff are mostly very helpful although some can be a bit offhand.
We will certainly be staying there again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for spending the time and posting a review of your recent stay.
Rates do change throughout the year and are much higher during horse racing, sales and festivals.
The room with the round window you like is room 211, when you make your next reservation call direct and we will do our best to give you that room,

Kind regards

Emma Dall

P.s Call direct for the best rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and would definitely stay again. Last time we were there, we had room 111 which has the most enormous four poster bed and is more of a suite than a hotel room. This delighted my teenage daughter who was oblivious of the curtains that were missing several hooks and the bad grouting in the bathroom. It was spotlessly clean, just needs some TLC. Breakfast is always good and the staff very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and will ask for room 111 if I go back! One downside to this room is that it is on the front and there is a noisy pub opposite but only until about midnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Rutland Arms
Room 111 is beautiful, a room filled with charcter and charm, when next booking call us direct and we will do our best to make sure your in the same room,

Kind regards

Emma Dall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Address: 33 High St, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where history and hospitality combineThis 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, ‘pour y parvenir’ meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rutland Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.