We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kentford

The Kentford
Bury Road | Kentford, Newmarket CB8 7PR, England
+44 1638 750360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 67 Restaurants in Newmarket
Price range: $16 - $37
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Arrived towards at our pre booked time, to find that they no longer had beef as an option, err excuse me this is Sunday lunch, not good enough !!!!
The food was ok albeit small portions, the vegetables served for our table of six would probably suit two, we asked for more and to our delight found we now had enough for four people!
Please note none of our group require large portions.
The staff were all pleasant but seemed to be working to a system rather than to the needs of the diner, one small and one large glass of wine turned out to be a small glass 3/4 full and the other small glass topped up a bit more.
Value for money no, the cost needs to be at least £5 per head less.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, Manager at The Kentford, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Kentford,

First of all we should not be running out of Beef for a reservation on a Sunday and apologise sincerely for this. We have seen an upturn in Sunday trade this past month and have now added an extra Beef joint to our order each week to ensure this does not happen again.

I'm disappointed to hear that you felt our Roast was poor value for money even with the extra vegetables requested as our aim is to source the best ingredients and to sell them at a best priced and reasonable value.

I'm pleased you found our team to be pleasant and would be interested to know how they where not working to the guests needs as they are trained to a system to ensure that guests needs are the priority at all costs.

I can also assure you that all our glasses of wine are served to measure at 250ml for a large glass and 175ml as a medium glass and am sorry if you do not like our choice of wine glass.

I would be more then happy to speak to you in more detail about your experience if you wish as I always wish to resolve any experience where your expectations where not met with a postive outcome.

Please feel free to call me at the Kentford anytime. .

Thank you again,

Kind Regards,

Lee
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Anniversary sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just back from a delicious sunday lunch to celebrate our anniversary. Excellent service, food nicely presented, very tasty, and good value. Will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, Manager at The Kentford, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your day. Thanks for the nice review and looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

The Kentford Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

A special birthday lunch was spoilt right at the end by a long wait for puddings. Everything started well, they could do with someone taking coats on arrival and checking in without customers trying to get past diners already eating. Maybe too many tables in the reception room. Lovely main dining room and pleasant service. Uninspiring Vegetarian option so went for the roast beef knowing there would be takers for my unwanted meat. A little tight on the vegetables, an offer of a few more would have been nice. The desert menu came and orders went in BUT a wait of 20 minutes for 2 cheeseboards and a chocolate brownie - come on guys it would have been quicker to get in the car and get it at home. Not sure if we recommend it or not - yes if you don't mind waiting and not too hungry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, Manager at The Kentford, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Kentford.

We are pleased that you liked the décor of the dining room and that you found the service pleasant.

Unfortunately we don't have a customer cloak room for jackets or a reception room as such. However we do have a separate room with a bar for guests wishing to have some drinks before being seated at a table in the restaurant.

We are sorry that you found our vegetarian options uninspiring, and that you felt that our offering of vegetables was small. We are always happy to offer more vegetables on request.

I would also like to apologise for the long wait on desserts. It is of my understanding that on this day we had many cheese boards ordered which do take a little longer to prepare then the rest of our dessert options. Since this review we have decided to pre prepare more cheese boards to speed up the service time as 20 minutes rightly is to long.

I would hope that you may offer us another opportunity in the future and thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Lee

Front Of House Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, the food was fine and well presented, my complaint is with the quantity,
the fish was adequate, the chips, though triple cooked, were
too few, the dessert also was very small, overall
it was not good value for money.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, Manager at The Kentford, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us despite feeling a little short changed.
We do aim to price our fresh food menu competitively and also listen to what our guests suggest.
Since your review we have tweaked our menu slightly with a few changes to some dishes to offer the best value to all our guests at all times.
Thanks again,

Lee

Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

A group of us had a Christmas meal in the Kentford. The food from the menu was excellent and we were advised a good bottle of red to have with the Steak which was delicious! Can't wait to try the 2 steaks for £20 night now!service is always friendly, but could go with more waiting staff. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, Manager at The Kentford, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for the review. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience back in December.

The steak nights are a must and proving to be very popular.

Regards,

The Kentford Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kentford also viewed

Newmarket, Suffolk
 
Newmarket, Suffolk
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The Kentford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kentford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.