We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fountain

The Fountain
182 High Street, Newmarket, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 67 Restaurants in Newmarket
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service and food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I went for a meal with my husband, but was far from impressed with the food and the service.
We were served our starters and forgotten about for 25 minutes until the waiter arrived to clear the table, we were not asked if we wanted any more drinks (our glasses had been empty for a while)
Our mains arrived which were okay, no check back again. Then left again for ages, when the waiter arrived to clear we weren't offered anything else, he just wandered off. We had to the bar ourselves to get the bill, no "did you enjoy your meal"or anything. Won't hurry back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Recommended but Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

First visit to the Restaurant after a day at the Newmarket Races .Very busy so if used i would pre-book especially on busy days as limited area ,Luckily I chose an inside seat so could observe the entire restaurant and avoid the hussle and bussle of waiter movement .The table next to us was taken by a large sometimes noisy group but who could challenge that as they were the connections of the Days Big race winner..
Even though this group occupied the majority of the waiters time we seemed to be given a prompt and attentive service .The meal was well cooked and tasty but rather on the small size and expensive although i was a guest and not the host on this occasion so my comments were limited.
I did not use any facilities or pay the bill so I am unable to comment on previous reviews but as far as the quality and taste it was good and iI would visit as a couple again on a non-racing day

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Let me start by saying we really enjoyed our food. The service was good as well. The only issue was when we got our bill we were over charged by quite a bit and it was not handled as well as it could have been. Would return for the food but was left with a little bit of a bad taste.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fountain Newmarket”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went as a couple having been as a group with well known jockeys and trainers. What a different service you get when going as a couple. Slow service. Overpriced. Stuck in the corner . One dish not as ordered. Different food quality, different service . much prefer the Lucky Star in Cherry Hinton. Our meal cost £90 for at the Fountain!! Never again

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Call the hygiene inspector !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went with 3 friends for lunch .
We were greeted by a waiter seated at one of the tables who at first seemed not to notice us in his empty restaurant before calling "can I help you?" from the other side of the room. Having shown us to a table and slung some greasy menus in our general direction he ambled back to his seat without asking if we would care for any drinks or wine. I took the opportunity to visit the the men's room to wash my hands before dining. I can honestly say that I haven't been in such filthy facilities in an eatery anywhere in my life! Even the carpet to the toilet door is tracked with who knows what from the lavatory floor! That was enough, I asked my friends to take a look before vacating the Fountain and suggesting to the idle waiter that he clean up his act and his filthy scruffy restaurant and facilities. We adjourned to the delightful Thai restaurant a couple of hundred yards away towards town and had a delightful meal with attentive staff and spotlessly clean surroundings! It also had plenty of diners which the Fountain did not !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

 
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.