We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to spend Saturday afternoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Street Cafe

Thai Street Cafe
26 - 28 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8LB, England
01638 674123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 67 Restaurants in Newmarket
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best place to spend Saturday afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

LOVE LOVE LOVE this place! Food is always top notch, the service is always fab - friendly and efficient and the decor is pretty smart too.

I dont know what else to put really - AMAZEBALLS!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    37
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Still good - lunchtime or evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is (still) a common lunchtime haunt. Now the good lady is working full time in Newmarket finding somewhere decent for lunch where you get in, get served, eat and get out in an hour is important. You can do all that here - but it only feels like a rush if you need it to be. The Bento box lunches are great for this (starter and main course delivered at the same time - and they are also available as takeaways).

It's also great in the evenings - whether with just a few of you or a larger party. The food is always fresh, tasty and hot when it gets to you.

The staff are genuinely friendly - and happy to explain any aspects of the menu that you want to understand better.

The place doesn't set out to be "part of Thailand in Newmarket" with fancy outfits and decor - it's clean and simple, and REALLY GOOD!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ate here last night after reading the other trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed...the food tasted fresh and authentic. We sat at the bar area, as the restaurant was full, but we enjoyed the atmosphere the place had. Nice friendly staff too!!! Definitely will be going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I've now visited Thai Street 6 times, 4 to dine in and twice as a takeaway. I've also eaten their food at the races. It's sublime and every time I go I try something different and have never been disappointed. Top marks, top food, good service and reasonably priced! In fact we are going there again tonight and I can't wait!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best thai food outside of Bangkok!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was visiting family in the area and grew up here so know Newmarket very well. As soon as I saw this place I wanted to go in as it looked small and intimate and I love Thailand, especially the food having visited several times.

The menu is varied and all the classics are on there as so you won't be disappointed if you are needing a holiday reminder. My favourite is massaman curry and wow this did not disappoint! It was full of flavour,exactly how I remember it and good portion size...I wish I could go back there tomorrow! We had chicken satay skewers and duck spring rolls to start which were both delicious and my boyfriend really enjoyed his drunken chicken noodles which tasted just like he'd got them off a street vendor on khao San road. Fab!

Service was very quick and attentive, only thing I wasn't keen on was the bar area, a group of lads around the bar detracted a little from the cosy initmate restaurant feeling that otherwise would have been the perfect atmosphere. I would personally request a table in the front area rather than up the steps due to this.

Overall I will definitely be back to get my thai fix and this restaurant is a great addition to the area. Kob Khun Ka!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Street Cafe also viewed

 
Newmarket, Suffolk
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to Thai Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.