We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip to the Races (apart from the betting!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bedford Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Newmarket
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent trip to the Races (apart from the betting!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on a busy Saturday night whilst attending the race meeting at Newmarket.
Good start when we were able to check in to our room at 11-30 which is always a bonus.
Really nice hotel and grounds, good service offered organising a taxi to the racecourse for us and asking our plans to help with booking a meal (not just in hotel).
Returned to hotel after the races and a trip to town, hotel was really busy but still able to get a waiter to serve drinks outside. Breakfast was really good and well organised, I'd recommend the eggs Benedict.
Room was nice and clean, big enough for what we needed and with a comfortable bed so all in all a really good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    90
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
53
168
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LINCS
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife & I stayed here for one night last week. The Room[No5] was very spacious, Clean & well appointed furniture & fittings.
The Leisure Pool is First Class , Sauna, Steam Room ETC all very good indeed.
The Breakfast was good, ordered & served by good attententive staff. All in All a good hotel to stay. Will Stay again if in the area & recommend.

Room Tip: Treat yourseves to a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just love it here. Rooms lovely, spacious, fresh coffee milk in rooms, breakfast great. Love rooms overlooking stables.
Pool and gym good.
No complaints apart from prices go up ridiculously when races are on!!

Room Tip: Overlooking stables my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night and she got one of the treatments from the spa. The room as great, breakfast was delicious, the staff is superb, and my girlfriend was really happy with her spa treatment and I enjoyed other great facilities such as swimming pool, Jacuzzi, etc. I think we will be back at some point. Highly recommended for a relaxed weekend.

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are good, we asked for a quiet one and that is what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks while our ceilings were being repaired. We can honestly say we cannot fault the hotel in anyway. Firstly the staff are, as the title says AMAZING! Helpful, kind, friendly, polite, the list is endless. In every department we were made to feel welcome and special, which helped us tremendously as the fact we had had to move out of our new build home after only 18months to have the repairs done had been extremely stressful, however the reception girls, housekeeping staff, waiters waitresses and bar staff ALL did their utmost to make us welcome and relaxed....so much so we didnt want to go back to our house!

The food is excellent, rooms spacious and spotless, grounds and garden picturesque and well kept......oh and staff amazing ;)

I also visited the Spa on a couple of occasions. Again,I have nothing but praise, the spa itself is truly wonderful, calm tranquil and inviting. Again the spa staff are friendly, welcoming, kind and extremely attentive. Would highly recommend a spa day. I cannot wait to go again.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor at the back of the hotel, you can watch the horses training in the neighbouring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed here a few times on business. Rooms are modern and spacious. Staff are pleasant and chatty. I find the restaurant food (dinner) a little lacking in soul. Cannot work out why as presentation is always good, and much play is made on using local ingredients. One small point (it's funny how you remember these things) I casually wondered up to the bar and asked for a 175ml (medium-size) measure of Chardonnay (white wine). This would usually be somewhere between £3-£6 elsewhere. I was asked for £11.50 and was quite shocked. It wasn't all that special and the waitress told me it "was the only Chardonnay they had by the glass". If you are going to offer a premium wine as standard, when the guest simply thinks they are ordering a glass of "house", this should be made clear in advance. Caveat emptor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely setting. Friendly staff, especially those serving at breakfast, which was delicious. My room was clean and well appointed. We didn't eat a main meal in the restaurant but took a short walk into town and ate at 'Rhubarb.' This hotel was the same price as the nearby Premier Inn, but nicer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
Premier Inn, Qu...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket
Premier Inn Newmarket
#2 of 9 in Newmarket
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#5 of 9 in Newmarket
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heath Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
Rosery Country House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Newmarket
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Free Parking, 4...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
13.0 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 34 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel

Address: Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel is Newmarket's only four-star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourse, Bedford Lodge Hotel is perfect for a leisure or racing break. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Orangery Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.