We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant couple of nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bedford Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Bedford Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant couple of nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at Bedford lodge hotel for a midweek break of a couple of nights early January. I had asked for a quite room overlooking the paddocks & that is exactly what we got. The room was so comfortable, and I loved that you had a separate walk in shower & a bath that was lovely and big! Moulton Brown toiletries were a lovely addition as were the tea pigs tea & caffetier coffee too. We ate dinner on the first night & was possibly one of the best meals out I have had in a long time! Duck breast was to die for. We took coffee in the bar after & it came with petit fours that was a nice touch. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent, hot was freshly cooked & just that - hot! We used the pool facilities on both days which were clean & the loungers were lovely to relax on too. Staff that we saw were always friendly & helpful. We asked for a recommendation of a place to eat out & ended up at The Pantry in Newmarket which was just fab too. On the day we left I used the spa for a lovely prenatal massage, just perfect to end the short break with. Really hope to return one day & would highly recommend on our experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 134 which was the last room down the corridor, but had no one walking past it &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    117
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
61
212
8
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had wanted to arrange a spa break with my family for ages, and my, oh my am I glad I choose the Bedford Lodge Spa and Hotel. Set in picturesque grounds across two seperate buildings, it cleverly manages to blend my two loves of modern contemporary with traditional character and charm, and packs a full-on luxury punch from the moment you arrive.
I travelled with my sister and parents, and we booked an overnight spa break package which included a full day's use of the spa, plus a 40 minute massage treatment, dinner in the hotel in the evening and breakfast the following morning.

We arrived at the Spa on Saturday morning and the staff showed us into the spa lounge area and were extremely attentive, giving us a guided tour of the facilities all the way to our lockers, which contained luxury cotton towels, robes and slippers,

The spa facilities here are excellent and although they clearly had a lot of people in, it didn't feel overly busy and there was plenty of space to chill out and relax in plenty of space as required.
Lunch in the spa lounge was delightful, and the kitchen staff were able to cater for my somewhat complex dietary requirements- i had emailed them in advance to warn them and it didn't phase them at all (Anyone doing the Candida Detox will know what i'm talking about!)- and the staff here was exceptional.

Early evening on the Saturday we all had our treatments, and I had upgraded mine from the muscle reviver massage, to the Lavender Hot Poultice Massage- and I can honestly say it was worth every penny! 2 hours of unadulterated bliss, and included the works- foot exfoliation, full on body exfoliation, full body massage seemed to go on forever!
My massage therapist Faye was brilliant- working out all the knots in my neck and shoulders with her heated poultices packed with herbs and spices. Just Heavenly.

Dinner at the Hotel in the evening was also exceptional, again with the chef catering for my special diet of no gluten, dairy yeast or sugar, and the only issue seemed to be how the waiting staff worked out the bill at the end of the meal in conjunction with the package deal we were on, which then had follow on complications when we came to check out, but all was quickly resolved

Our room was fresh clean and welcoming. The Hotel also contains a separate well equipped gym and pool, which we used on the Sunday morning..followed by a scrumptious cooked Breakfast.

Highly recommend this Hotel and Spa. 10/10.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful stay. We also booked a spa day and had a wonderful relaxing time. The food in both spa and hotel restaurant was fantastic and our room very nice. Highly recommended will definately be returning!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was booked into here due to work. The place is stunning the welcome warm and an excellent room..but problems In order... At dinner my main was with mussels which were forgotten about and when mentioned they turned up.Retired to my room late was just trying to chill with a bit of TV wow how complicated, needed a little instruction sheet, managed to get to a blue screen and gave up. Breakfast shown to table and drink order taken, waited and waited finally had to get someone to take my food order. Hmmmm I dont often stay in this level of hotel but I certainly didnt get the service expected, poorer than a budget hotel.. The food was excellent when I got it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canvey island
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

came here in a group of 18 for christmas do food was very good hotel was immucualte clean, grounds of hotel was very nice, nice view of the stables on one side of hotel,staff very helpful would def like to return to this hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I was travelling on business and not that happy to have had to travel on a Sunday to be in Newmarket on the Monday morning. However, when I got to such a lovely hotel, I was a lot happier. My room was very nice and I had a long swim in the virtually empty but very large swimming pool. I had a very good meal in the bar, where I didn't feel self-conscious being on my own. Breakfast was very good and all the staff I met were very nice. I would consider going to this hotel for a weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The staff from arrival, breakfast through to departure were attentive, knowledgeable & very helpful.
The bedroom was beautifully turned out, clean & very comfortable.... Luxurious Molten Brown toiletries in the room & even Tea Pig Tea's - but next time please can I have fruity tea & Gluten Free Biscuit as I did explain my gluten & lactose intolerance?!!
The staff at breakfast were great & knew what was available gluten free & if not knew the chef would know. The food was great & finally a place where you can almost have the same as everyone else!!!
We will definitely be back & hopefully spend some time in the Spa....
Thanks for a great nights sleep!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel

Address: Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel is Newmarket's only four-star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourse, Bedford Lodge Hotel is perfect for a leisure or racing break. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Orangery Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.