We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bedford Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Newmarket
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Bedford Lodge Hotel is perfectly situated - within easy walking distance of Newmarket town centre but far enough outside of the town to enjoy the peace and quiet of its surroundings. With ample parking and beautiful grounds we had the perfect weekend here. The restaurant food was delicious, the staff were attentive and the room was spotlessly clean. The maid service provided plenty of re-stocking of refreshments and bathroom accessories. We paid an additional £20 a night to upgrade to a room that overlooked the horses stables next door. Although we were able to see the horses, the view itself was of the large wooden "walkers" that the horses uses for exercise and I wouldn't upgrade again. The room itself wasn't any larger than the other rooms, although the bathroom was beautiful with a separate walk in shower. There was a wedding taking place in the hotel over the weekend we stayed and we weren't disturbed by it at all. We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: As the grounds were so beautiful I wouldn't choose to have a view of the horses again as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    89
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
53
166
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Made a last minute booking do to business very overpriced at £206 for one night,room was ok newly refurbised bathroom nice with walk in shower. Breakfast good, shame it was so expensive most I have ever paid for a room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for a 30th Anniversary treat for my husband and friends. Hotel lovely but not as nice we have stayed at. Food and service were great and staff friendly however the price rose by £80 because there was an event on the Friday Night and although we didnt attend the room prices goes up which i wasnt really happy paying and spoils a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We had a nice room overlooking the wedding venue which was on the left side of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We only needed an overnight stop-over but I really wanted to stay longer.

The hotel exterior looked magnificent with manicured grounds and plenty of places to park. The reception area is very nice and the pleasant staff are professional and very curteous. The room was stylishly decorated, with a large comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom. Complimentary water was chilled in the fridge and Molton Brown bath products were a nice touch. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the horse training grounds, but we didn't see any horses during the short time we were unpacking.

The spa is free to use and the staff put us at ease explaining everything we would need to know, opening times, where to get fresh towels, that a £1 coin (returnable) was required for the lockers etc etc. The pool is a nice size, certainly big enough to complete a few lengths and the sauna and jacuzzi was welcoming.

We had afternoon tea in the bar, nice selection of sandwiches and cakes and priced reasonably but we didn't eat in the restaurant deciding to eat out instead.

Breakfast included in the rate (£85) was served quickly and was of high quality.

Overall, this hotel was a fantastic find, offering good value for money and exceptional service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed on 30 August 2012. The weather was wet and cool but the hotel was anything but. The value was exceptional at £85 for the room and breakfast. The room was very clean and the very large bed extremely comfortable. We ate in the Squires restaurant and the three course set price meal offered plenty of choice. Just under £80 for two including a bottle of wine was exceptional value. If you are looking for ambience then ask for a table to the left of the entrance where you are ushered down some steps to a more subdued area. I notice that a previous reviewer mentioned that the overzealous air conditioning took the edge of his meal. I found that the ac was rather bracing particularly as it was not a warm evening, but after a word with the waiter it was soon turned off. The breakfast was not manic as previous reported by another reviewer, but I suppose that was because hotel was not that full, being a Friday morning. With regard to the breakfast there was an extensive choice and it was hard to think of anything that was not provided.

The staff were all polite and helpful. The only gripe I have, and that is probably peculiar to me, is that when the restaurant bill was presented it had a 10% surcharge added. This I found annoying as the waiter service was nothing out of the ordinary. However after a quiet word with the waiter the offending charge was quickly removed.

My wife and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Went to Bedford Lodge on Tuesday - staff very friendly and efficient but food average, however we have always eaten in the restaurant before and had great food and this was bar food - nothing wrong with it but not great either.

Room Tip: Did not stay only went in for early evening meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed for a business trip and really enjoyed the hotel and its setting. Stayed in a suite which has its own Sky TV and a TV in the lounge and bedroom!! Lovely Molton Brown toiletries too! I had dinner in the bar which served a fantastic sirloin, but the restuarant looked really nice and the breakfast in the morning was excellent too. Woke up to the sight of horses being exercised in the yard that my room overlooked - lovely!! I also used the comprehensive gym facilities which was very well equipped and up to date. Overall a really good stay, just a shame I was working.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel

Address: Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel is Newmarket's only four-star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourse, Bedford Lodge Hotel is perfect for a leisure or racing break. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Orangery Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.