We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Lion

The Black Lion
The Green, Long Melford CO10 9DN, England
01787 312356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Long Melford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“recommended!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Top food and service… cant wait to go back!!! As good as any we've ever had in the West End… and the breakfast was the best you would be hard to beat anywhere!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Wedding Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We held our wedding reception at the Black Lion in May 2013. As only a few members of our family live in the area, and the other side of the family come from France, the whole day took a lot of arrangement, but Michael, in his usual style made sure that there was never anything to worry about. The staff at the Black Lion are absolutely amazing, friendly and nothing is ever a hassle, no matter how small. From helping me to carry my wedding dress train up to the church to coming out with his umbrella to collect us back from the church, we were pampered for the whole weekend. The food and service were (as usual) absolutely amazing, and the way nothing seemed a problem, even with the language difficulty with almost half of the guests! There is nothing bad to be said about the Black Lion, its staff and it's location, the weekend really was the best weekend of our lives! Thanks again to Michael and all the staff at the Black Lion - you were so fantastic and we might well see you again for our 1st anniversary! If you are looking for friendly and helpful staff, amazing local food and the best views in Suffolk this is THE place to stay!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A gastronomic delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed a night at black lion - wished it was for longer... Service impeccable- lovely ambience incredible food . Staff could not have been more helpful. Although room was beautifully decorated it was on the small side- stayed before in a larger room but we booked last minute and were allocated the only room available . Management will upgrade you if there are rooms available.
A lovely experience- the surroundings are stunning. Highly recommended.
We will be back.. Z

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food, superb service, cozy atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I dined on a Tuesday night. The Melford bar dinning area contained two groups of five each and three other tables with couples dinning, so well atteneded. Cozy atmosphere by the fire for us. Lovely old wooden tables and comfy chairs completed the feel. Food top notch. Tasty crab cake to start. Sirloin steak cooked to perfection with peppercorn sauce and chunky home cooked fries and tasty Chocolate Morielleux to finish. Outstanding! And Nikki our hostess waited on us hand and foot without being too over-the-top. Just right to make us feel special but not so much to be oo underfoot. This was our first visit to The Black Lion in 18 months and we will be sure to book again soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lunch ! More of a Banquet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our party of six chose the Black Lion to celebrate a birthday. We've been there before and have been very pleased with food and service. This visit, well, from the moment we entered we were made very welcome. Staff attention was superb. Lunch was magnificent. Not one of the party could find any fault. The menu is well selected, the dishes are expertly prepared and everything from the glassware to the cutlery is spotless. This is a restaurant that makes that extra effort and it show, I will keep going back as restaurants and staff like this are getting very rare. To the manager and staff, I am grateful for making the occasion very special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Lion also viewed

Long Melford, Suffolk
Long Melford, Suffolk
 
 

Been to The Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.