We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT WEEKEND” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Black Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green, Long Melford CO10 9DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Long Melford
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“GREAT WEEKEND”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned for the Black Lion we have had GREAT service from ALL the staff, from the first welcome from Micheal to when we left. good food (including the mushrooms ) big thank you we will see you again. Bob & Elizabeth Brewer

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    62
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
138
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lastingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

If you want to wait an hour for a breakfast that has been baked dry then this is the place for you. Upper rooms unbearably hot and stuffy and fan does not work. Certainly not worth the money, distinctly moderate!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was given a voucher for afternoon tea for two at the Black Lion in Long Melford. Oh dear, very poor. The sandwiches were ok but not very well presented. The scones looked liked 'value' super market scones. The tiny piece of chocolate brownie was not too fresh and the piece of cherry tart looked as though it had been on the plate for some time. Neither of us fancied it so don't know how it tasted. The clotted cream was very good. Very poor value for money. Don't think I will go again!!

Not only disappointing for us but also for the person who gave us the gift who assumed it would be in the setting as shown on the web site.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for one night in the Chablis room, which has an inter-connecting room with bunk beds - ideal for families. As we only booked the day before, the hotel allowed one of our children to stay for free (the cost is usually a rather steep £37 per child). The rooms were both pretty small - the bunk bed room only has room for the bed. But this didn't matter too much for a one night stay.

Positives: the very friendly welcome on arrival, huge fluffy white towels, comfortable bed. En suite bathroom is a good size. The breakfast was generally excellent - large tasty portion of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, good Full English, fantastic (homemade I think) granola, good quality fruit juice, leaf tea and cafetiere coffee. Shame the toast was from a standard cheap sliced loaf. Easy to park outside. Children enjoyed a small toy box in the reception area and the rocking horses around the hotel which staff said they were welcome to ride on!

Less good: we found a beer can under the bunk bed (the children were asking what the smell was!) and someone else's hairbrush under our bed. The rooms seem a little bit tired and in a need of a renovation. For example, the paint on the bunk bed was wearing off, the carpets are worn, the wallpaper was scuffed quite a bit, the paint on the bath panel was chipping off. For the price, I would have expected better. The shower was very weak, and fixed, so that if you are taller than about 5'9" you wouldn't be able to fit your head under it without stooping. If this place is renovated soon (and the toast is made of nicer bread) then it could be 5*.

Room Tip: Chablis is good if you have children as there is an inter-connecting room with a bunk bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A warm welcome on arrival and we were shown to our room - 10, Volnay. This was small but smart, comfortable and clean with a good sized bathroom.

At first it appeared there was no hot water for a bath but then we realised the taps were mis-labelled.

We were visiting friends so did not have Dinner in the hotel but the breakfast was very good and well presented by friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Everything about our stay was perfect. On arrival we were offered a free room upgrade which we accepted. The room was excellent and the bed was extremely comfortable. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. The staff were always very helpful. The surrounding area of Long Melford is charming and there are lots of things to do. We will definitely return at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in May and nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic staff - special mention for Nikki, Kaya and Fiona. We stayed in Chablis and it was gorgeous. The bar is lovely, and the food was fabulous especially on our first night. (Husband says to say that food on the 3rd night was a bit disappointing). Breakfast kept us going all the way to the evening.
The room was a little hot on the first (sunny) day - suspect it would be divinely warm in the winter.

Room Tip: Chablis was a bit too hot on a sunny day - maybe check with reception for a cooler room in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Long Melford CO10 9DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Long Melford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Long Melford
Black Lion Hotel Long Melford, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.