We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiffin's Tea Emporium

Tiffin's Tea Emporium
Drury House, Hall Street, | Long Melford, Long Melford CO10 9JT, England
+44 1787 827911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Long Melford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tiffins Tea Emporium is under new management and with free wifi welcomes you to come and relax and enjoy our re-designed tea room with a choice of breakfast, light lunches and a variety of tea and not forgetting our new range of fabulous home made cakes. We have also introduced freshly ground Colombian arabica coffee beans for the non tea lovers along with our Jaccs flavoured coffee choices and honeycomb hot chocolate. We pride ourselves with our attentive service and relaxed atmosphere and would very much like for you to stop by and say hello.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

the coffee is excellent - they use Nespresso for their espresso -, their cakes are delicious and their home made light lunches are not only really tasty but reasonably priced as well ! Everything is home made and their tiffin is just fantastic. Lovely chunky bits of biscuit, raisins and scrummy chocolate! Well worth a visit - and the staff are lovely just to add to the experience. We call in for coffee / lunch or tea as we wander through Melford and it's great every time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffinsteaemporium, Owner at Tiffin's Tea Emporium, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and for redressing the balance on our coffee and Tiffin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    15
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely setting shame about the coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We called in for a coffee late on a Sunday afternoon. The tea room is set in a lovely location and is very quaint. The staff were friendly and service was quick. Unfortunately the coffees were very weak, tasting suspiciously like powdered coffee and certainly not what you would expect at £3.50 for 2 coffees. Very disappointing. There was a nice selection of cakes on offer but we just had coffees to warm us up before we got back on our motorbikes. Whilst they certainly warmed us up, they were too weak to taste. Shame.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffinsteaemporium, Owner at Tiffin's Tea Emporium, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a riview, if only you had spoken to us at the time we could have rectified the situation for you.

Our filter coffee, which is what you ordered, is a high quality blend from Paddy and Scotts, a Suffolk based highly reputable company. We have many regular customers who love this coffee, I am sorry it was not to your taste. It is certainly not powdered coffee.

We also serve a richer stonger Americano which if you are looking for a more robust blend is what we would recommend.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the friendly staff, speed of service, ambience and the nice selection of cakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tea at Tiffins.....A MUST !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Recently visited Tiffins Tea Emporium with my husband on a lazy Sunday afternoon. We ordered afternoon tea which is served on a three tier plate of delicious sandwiches, huge scone with jam and cream and a delightful homemade cake washed down with a pot of tea. The staff are friendly and welcoming and we will most certainly be making a return visit soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good for afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Huge scones, good choice of teas, yummy. Friendly service, would recommend and visit again when in the area

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Head above the parapet...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

After reading all the glowing reviews, this was a must-visit destination. We actually visited twice.
Well, the welcome was warm and enthusiastic, and you are 'talked through' the cakes before being shown to a table.
The rooms are beautifully set out, the china is a delight and service excellent.
The berry fruit tea is delicious.
Now:
Visit number one: the tiffin was very disappointing, rather greasy and with burnt dried fruit which was inedible. I expected a fridge-set cake, but this one seems to have been baked. Nevertheless, I came back next day to give it another try..
Visit number two: this time I chose the chocolate and coconut cake. I love chocolate, but can take or leave coconut. This was the only chocolate-type cake (tiffin yesterday) so I chose it above the other cakes. The staff kept saying that 'this' or 'that' cake is delicious, but I prefer to make my own choice.
Well, the chocolate and coconut cake was good for dieters, because only half was edible. It had a soft icing on top, but not in the middle. When every attempt to cut with the knife just produced a plate full of crumbs and any cake without icing just stuck in my mouth, I gave up. The waitress noticed and said that the coconut makes it dry, but this cake was stale.
The ginger and lemon cake (also described as 'delicious') was nothing out of the ordinary.
On neither occasion could we get scones. It seems that afternoon tea at 3.30 is just too late to get a complete choice from the menu.
And while it's priced about right (£8-£10 for two drinks and two cakes), it needs to be better than we found.
I am alway willing to give credit where it's due, and am aware of all the positive reviews submitted previously, but I won't be going back and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffinsteaemporium, Owner at Tiffin's Tea Emporium, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, for your kind words and for your constructive feedback.

We have taken on board your comments and have made the necessary changes.

We are sorry that you have decided not to return, it appears on this occasion we have fallen short of our usual high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiffin's Tea Emporium also viewed

 
Long Melford, Suffolk
Long Melford, Suffolk
 

Been to Tiffin's Tea Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiffin's Tea Emporium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.