We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food slightly over bearing service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lavenham Great House Restaurant

Lavenham Great House Restaurant
Market Place, Lavenham CO10 9QZ, England
+44 1787 247431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $91
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The epitome of elegance and fine dining, The Great House offers its customers and individual twist on classical French cooking in addition to traditional 'Haute cuisine'. A charming and comfortable boutique hotel as well as a restaurant, it is highly acclaimed and has won many accolades, including Best Restaurant with Rooms (The Good Hotel Guide), on of Britain's Top 100 Restaurants (The Sunday Times & Hardens Guide) and East of England Restaurant of the Year (Which? Good Food Guide).
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food slightly over bearing service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went here for a big birthday the other day and the food did live up to the many recommendations I have had from friends. The winelist was varied and had some decent value wines including inexpensive white burgundy so I was happy. On the other hand there were too many waiters standing around the table and it did feel slightly overbearing. The men's bathroom is little more than a cupboard under the stairs but all in all a very pleasant restaurant where we would return once a year or so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    45
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“michelin starred food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

loved our meal at the great house restaurant , exquisite food , service and location , a must if you visiting lavenham

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quite Simply Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have just returned from a truly superb lunch at The Great House! Have been visiting the restaurant for a number of years but this was the first time I've had lunch in the courtyard - quite simply perfect!
The food was absolutely delicious - just wished I had enough room for what looked like the most amazing pecan pie! The setting was perfect on a summer afternoon with a chilled glass of champagne - can't wait to return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Another perfect visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I guess you could say we are lucky this is our closest restaurant it's 3 minutes walk and there aren't many restaurants around of this quality. The Great House offers consistent levels of high quality food and service, the food is perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. There is an extensive wine list with a wide spread of price they are all well selected so if you keep the cost down on the wine I don't think you will be disappointed. Best value is a weekday lunch but that's not always the right time if you are celebrating an event, my visit was to celebrate my 60th. We visited as a family and all enjoyed the quality and the ambiance.

Just look at the rest of the reviews here they can't be wrong and indeed they aren't its an excellent resturant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mersea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Great House, Lavenham, Suffolk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We travelled from West Mersea to The Great House to meet up with friends, what a fantastic evening the food was lovely, and the staff really helpful. We will be back !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavenham Great House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lavenham Great House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavenham Great House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.