We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavenham Great House Restaurant

Lavenham Great House Restaurant
Market Place, Lavenham CO10 9QZ, England
+44 1787 247431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $89
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The epitome of elegance and fine dining, The Great House offers its customers and individual twist on classical French cooking in addition to traditional 'Haute cuisine'. A charming and comfortable boutique hotel as well as a restaurant, it is highly acclaimed and has won many accolades, including Best Restaurant with Rooms (The Good Hotel Guide), on of Britain's Top 100 Restaurants (The Sunday Times & Hardens Guide) and East of England Restaurant of the Year (Which? Good Food Guide).
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Another perfect visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I guess you could say we are lucky this is our closest restaurant it's 3 minutes walk and there aren't many restaurants around of this quality. The Great House offers consistent levels of high quality food and service, the food is perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. There is an extensive wine list with a wide spread of price they are all well selected so if you keep the cost down on the wine I don't think you will be disappointed. Best value is a weekday lunch but that's not always the right time if you are celebrating an event, my visit was to celebrate my 60th. We visited as a family and all enjoyed the quality and the ambiance.

Just look at the rest of the reviews here they can't be wrong and indeed they aren't its an excellent resturant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    45
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Mersea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Great House, Lavenham, Suffolk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We travelled from West Mersea to The Great House to meet up with friends, what a fantastic evening the food was lovely, and the staff really helpful. We will be back !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hundon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Having previously been disappointed by the Angel across the road, we thought we'd give the Great House a try. The contrast could not have been greater.

The Great House service team were friendly but professional. The food was all very good and served well and on a timely basis. The wine list was not massive but had a good range at reasonable prices.

We'll definitely make a return visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for lunch.. and Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Service, food, atmosphere... all great! An excellent place for lunch. Good quality ingredients, well prepared and served with French style. A meal here is always a pleasure. Not just for special occasions.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, shame about the veg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I've been to the Great House many times and enjoy their French influenced cuisine. This time, I ordered 3 veg side dishes with the main course. It consisted of 3 mini carrots, 3 small broccoli heads, 3 small cauli heads and 9 french beans. Not quite £10 worth of vegetables in my mind but that was the only niggle. I know the French don't do veg much but this was a bit of a joke. Starters were delightful and fresh, main courses were inventive and cooked to perfection and the selection of desserts was a huge challenge to know what to have. I love this place and wish we could come more often than the once-a-year we have managed for the last 15 years.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavenham Great House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lavenham Great House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavenham Great House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.