We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The garden oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham to your Saves list
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Lavenham CO10 9QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The garden oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a lovely experience enjoying the sunshine in the garden this May Day Bank Holiday lunchtime. Having previously emailed the hotel as to its dog-friendly areas, I knew that our dog Lucy would be welcome in certain bedrooms, the bar (a little narrow & dark, I found) and the garden. Once we ascertained that a sandwich menu does exist - this wasn't readily available - we both enjoyed our egg sandwiches, which came with dressed leaves, delicious home-made crisps and actually consisted of six quarters! As fitting its reputation, the hotel itself exudes professionalism and class. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    136
    46
    9
    8
See reviews for
79
459
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A warm welcome from all the staff and every effort was made by the therapist, Janete, to tailor the treatment to suit my needs. Nice touches like a mini smoothy on arrival, a delicious iced sorbet after the treatment and a cup of speciality tea served in the quiet room, with time to relax. This really is a very special place, beautifully decorated, spacious with a very relaxing atmosphere. Lovely formal patio garden with a vitality pool makes a visit very special, especially when the sun is shining. Every detail has been thought about and I will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: The Lavenham Room (15) is nicely decorated but a little on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very impressed by this huge, imposing Tudor building as we drove past to the car park behind. Inside, absolutely beautiful with beams, nooks and crannies everywhere. A posh restaurant, a casual restaurant and a big bar gives you so much choice with lots of relaxing and comfy places to sit dotted in different areas. We stayed in room 48 with a four poster bed, relax area, dressing room and en suite. The room was stunning with beams everywhere and a huge brick fireplace. Definitely has the wow factor and benefited by being just a few yards stumble from the bar.

We also took the Emperors afternoon tea which was the best we have ever had. The cakes were amazing and they even offered top ups which I indulged in. Aspall on draught for my husband and a glass of local Lavenham rose made this a perfect afternoon.

We dined in the Gallery restaurant in the evening. Both opting for the delicious hake fillets on a bed of crushed petit pois and mayonnaise. Simple but divine. My husband had a very good mushroom risotto and I had very tender venison. For dessert I had the best chocolate fondant ever and my husband had rhubarb and ginger cheesecake. The sommelier recommended a very good sparkling rose
Which was demolished.

All in all, a lovely hotel, full of character serving up quality food. It is pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: If disabled, recommend rooms 47 and 48
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole Dorset
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We decided to stay at the Swan on our way back home from visiting friends. The hotel is delightful, obviously very old, but beautifully maintained. The bedroom that we had was on the first floor and perfectly adequate for our overnight stay. The staff were all most helpful and obliging. The Gallery restaurant is superb, with food that is beatifully cooked and presented, we both had venison which, accompanied by a good red wine, hit the spot. In the morning, breakfast in the Gallery was also well cooked and delicous.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staying in Lavenham which is a wonderful place we decided to eat at the Swan and chose the Brasserie. The staff were excellent and indeed very efficent and friendly, the food was good, nothing special but for the price which I found to be on par with most 4 star hotels was good value. The Brasserie is bright and welcoming. If in the area again we will return.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very pleasant place to stay and great food. It is expensive but kinda goes with the territory. Great location and atmosphere.
We will go back again when we have saved up enough!
Nice staff and facilities.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This must have been at least our third stay at the Swan. Again, it was wonderful. Great food, excellent service. Word of advice if you're having dinner...if you're eating in the Gallery restaurant don't expect a mountain of food, it's just not that kind of restaurant - I'm always astounded at the number of guests who don't seem to understand that...
Quality of food was excellent as always, afternoon tea never fails to impress. Our room was a little chilly but was remedied quickly after a call to the front desk. The bed was super comfortable. I'm not a great sleeper anywhere but I didn't want to get out of bed that morning. At £130 including breakfast I thought we got a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Lavenham CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.