We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Hotel Lavenham

Save Saved
You added Swan Hotel Lavenham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel Lavenham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Lavenham CO10 9QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lavenham
Ipswich
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a lovely lunch in the Gallery restaurant. All food was tasty and fresh. Well presented and served hot. There was a good selection on the menu. The only reason I did not score 5 out of 5 was as there were 4 of us two were served at a time with a noticeable gap between the other two dishes were brought to the table. We started by having a drink in the bar full of history. And the gardens were great.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    116
    39
    8
    6
See reviews for
67
378
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate the wedding anniversary of friends. Whilst we knew Lavenham and the Swan Hotel we had never stayed there, what a wonderful experience. A very friendly welcome, a good sized room, tastefully decorated and well appointed. The food, both the snacks and the main menu, all of excellent quality and so well presented. The bar, particularly interesting because of the WWll USAF and RAF memorabilia is very relaxing and so very "British" with all the oak beams. The bar is very well stocked especially if you like Scotch Whisky! There are so many places you can sit quietly or spread out with friends. All the staff are friendly and attentive providing the highest level of service but very much from the background. To those that have read any of my other reviews will know that we do not like over attentive, pretentious fussy service but nevertheless like quality and good service. The Swan provides everything that we seek from an hotel, they certainly made our short stay a very relaxing, happy and memorable one and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have visited or stayed at the Swan over the years so instead of just driving on we were obliged to look in to make sure that standards are being maintained. We were not at all disappointed. Warm welcome; excellent lunch in the sunny garden and a solid feeling that this special place is in capable hands. Lovely atmosphere. We'll certainly be back - DV. (The Swan's association with the US Air Force in WW2 was re-affirmed by the presence of some US veterans at the hotel and around town heading for an event at Lavenham's splendid church. The hotel rustled up a member of staff and his own car to take one of the no longer young veterans to the church - nice touch).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We only stayed for two nights on this occasion but it remains as we remember it: charming, peaceful and with high standards. There is a sense of occasion in the grand dining room, with appropriate service and pretty good food. We chose a 'feature' room which best illustrates the original Swan, with many wall & ceiling beams and quirky antique features. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room & bathroom had all the useful bits & bobs for a comfortable stay. We felt our particular room was a little tired, and told them so but it didn't dampen the mood. We would recommend you insist on a lately decorated room to avoid our little disappointment. As for the ambience within the hotel, it has the most helpful staff and everything is achieved with a smile. Perhaps some fresh flowers in the dining room and a slightly more visible manager would be preferable but we will be returning because we simply love The Swan.

Room Tip: Question your location and quality of room carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at the Swan at Lavenham. I am so glad to read that you found the hotel to be charming with high standards. Naturally I was disappointed to read that you found your room a little tired, it has been a little while since that room was redecorated. I would like to assure you that rooms will be addressed. I am sorry I was not around to meet with you.

Please feel free to contact me directly at manager@theswanatlavenham.co.uk to discuss your experience.

Kind regards


Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Having eaten in the restaurant for many years, it has changed from a bit of a treadmill to a quiet and elegant experience with discrete yet efficient service. For the first time the dining experience exceeded that of the Great House, which we had always preferred.
Champaign and petit fours in the bar then off to our table in the wonderful dining room. It still takes our breath away as the great hall is absolutely stunning. A magnificent meal well paced with fine wine. Then coffee back in the bar and walk home.
A first-class dinner not yet surpassed!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your dining experience of the Swan at Lavenham Gallery Restaurant.
It is fantastic to read that you had a magnificent meal, particularly that you found dinner to be first-class.
Your kind comments have been shared with our team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lavenham again soon.

Kind regards


Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I spent last night at The Swan to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When we arrived we had been upgraded to a junior suite which was lovely. The hotel is full of character and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in. Unfortunately for me I am an extremely light sleeper and our room was at the front of the hotel so I was awake from 5.30 onwards once traffic started passing the hotel. However that is not the hotels fault and I have no doubt that if we had asked to be moved to a room at the rear of the hotel the staff would have done their best to accommodate us. From check-in to departure every member of staff that we encountered acted with extreme friendliness and professionalism and gave the impression that any request would be met without hesitation. We did not dine in the hotel as we have eaten there on a number of occasions in the past and had decided to try somewhere new. However the standard of breakfast with the excellent variety of choices could not be faulted, as expected. This may very well become our annual anniversary treat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much you for taking the time to share your experience of the Swan at Lavenham Hotel with all of our Trip Advisor friends. I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your wedding anniversary and all aspects of our hotel, particularly that you found our team to be so attentive. Your kind comments have been shared with our team and they were all very proud to have made your stay so memorable. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lavenham again next year if not sooner. We shall try to ensure that we book you into a room at the rear of the hotel.

Kind regards


Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a stroll around lovely Lavenham. Then we treated ourselves to high tea. Average sandwiches, lovely scones and cakes! Plenty of parking nearby. Cosy lounge are, but we sat in the Brasserie with the doors open to the garden, perfect in the good weather.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngoWiangke, General Manager at Swan Hotel Lavenham, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your high tea experience at the Swan at Lavenham Hotel.
I am dissapointed to read that our sandwiches were not to satisfaction. I would like to assure you that this issue is being addressed.

I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards


Ingo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan Hotel Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel Lavenham

Address: High Street, Lavenham CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel Lavenham 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st Century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Swan Hotel Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel Lavenham Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Hotel Lavenham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.