We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Hotel Lavenham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Swan Hotel Lavenham to your Saves list
Swan Hotel Lavenham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Lavenham CO10 9QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Norwich
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very friendly and help full staff
Comfortable room
Not impressed with the Restaurant, We have certainly had better quality food.
Small car park but there is plenty of room on the surrounding roads.

Would recommend for short weekend away

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    123
    43
    9
    7
See reviews for
71
404
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great hotel! Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We had an upgrade to a suite which was excellent. The food was stunning. The location is perfect for exploring Lavenham. This is a special hotel that we would use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely hotel in a quiet but beautiful village. We had a very nice stay but after we changed our booking from the restaurant to the bistro,purely due to menu preferences, we felt that the service slipped and couldn't believe it was the same place. On the previous night we had dined at the Angel hotel and it was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Visited here with the family and sat down for a meal in their main restaurant.

The building is a very old, wooden structure that really adds charm to the very idea of village life. Dress up smart because the pub has high standards and aims to attract the more smartly turned out clientèle, let's say!

There is a nice garden out back, as well as some very well decorated rooms and bars. The main restaurant is extremely posh and really looks the part for a special occasion. The service is masterfully implemented and all the waiters/waitresses look the part.

The food, whilst expensive, is top notch and you really get a high standard of presentation, preparation and quality. I did mention that it was expensive but you get what you pay for here.

This is not a place I would eat at usually but I recognise that for special occasions, the times when you can afford to push the boat out a little more than usual, this is the perfect place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel in an idyllic small village. Excellent, attentive staff, helpful and kind and good food. Free upgrade on arrival. Expensive but worth it. Beautiful area to explore. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband surprised me with a night here to celebrate our weddin anniversary. His parents recommended it after a visit to the restaurant to mark their 40th wedding anniversary as this was where they had spent their honeymoon. The village of Lavenham is beautiful, like stepping back in time. The hotel itself is impeccable, we receive a very warm welcome, our room was very comfortable and the whole hotel has been sympathetically redecorated so as not to detract from it's Tudor charm, low beams, wonky floors and all! We had a beautiful dinner in the main restaurant and a delicious breakfast in the brasserie the next morning. My only sore point is that we didn't stay two nights and that we didn't sample the afternoon tea!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I took my now husband to the swan for his birthday last year, it is only now that I've been seriously thinking about returning that I realised it was too good for me not to have posted a review.

The welcome was warm, the room was cosy and luxurious, and the cream tea was divine. The breakfast the following morning was delicious (don't miss out on the sausages!) and the surrounding village is beautiful to wander along.

I'm sorry this isn't a more detailed review, but I will strive to return very soon and when I do I will come back with it fresher in my mind and leave a more up to date account.

I can confirm 100% though that you would not be disappointed if you stayed here, it's one of those feel good hotels, perfect for a special occasion

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan Hotel Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel Lavenham

Address: High Street, Lavenham CO10 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st Century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swan Hotel Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel Lavenham Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Hotel Lavenham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.