We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Market Place, Lavenham CO10 9QZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Lavenham B&B and Inns
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My daughter treated us to lunch here on Sunday 10th March 'Mothering Sunday' and it was superb. This restaurant never fails and is our very favorite in the area. From the moment you are met at the door until you leave it is an experience, and the food is amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    32
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
129
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The Great House accommodation is lovely and the staff very welcoming and helpful . Breakfast was also extremely good apart from packaged orange juice and no organic plain yoghurt . However dinner was ordinary apart from the cauliflower soup which was excellent . The gravlax was four little pieces amounting to one mouthful , the lamb chops were insufficiantly tasty , the Sea Bass was pleasant and for some reason came with a large plate of cooked cucumber , which was lovely , but the lamb came with nothing . We would stay again as overall it is lovely -

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Detail, detail, detail! From the moment that you walk though the door this place shines! Attention to detail is everywhere it is a real class act! When we have been to Lavenham to dine in the past we have always gone to the Swan which is also superb however we were looking for a change of scene and this came highly recommended on TripAdvisor. We were lucky enough to get a cancelation when we called on Sunday morning. There was plenty of parking in the square outside even though we arrived at 13.00. In comparison to the Swan the restaurant is more tightly seated although that adds to the atmosphere. There was a good choice of dishes, we went for the gravlax and the duck terrine to start followed by slow roasted pork & sebass. Everything was presented with the sort of elegant precision that you would expect from the finest French classic restaurant. The combinations of flavour were perfectly balanced, a real triumph. In combination with superb deserts and a well thought through and comprehensive wine list this really is a special place. Best of all they don't add an automatic service charge which those who have read some of my other reviews will already know my feelings about!! However given the quality of the food and service I was very happy to leave a significant and well deserved tip. We will be back and so should anyone looking for a first class meal in Lavenham!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had eaten here in the past, but decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay for a special occasion. We were 'delighted' from the moment we arrived. The staff were extremely knowledgable and attentive and one gets the impression that they really enjoy their work and strive for customer satisfaction. The 'cuisine' was superb, beautifully presented and an absolute joy to eat, we felt them thoroughly deserving of a Michelin *. Our room 3 (or rather suite) was cosy and charming, with plenty of attention to detail and a lovely comfortable bed. All in all an extremely pleasant experience, and one we are looking forward to repeating in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed two nights at this restaurant with four rooms. The room was fantastic in a fifteenth century timber house and the food was exceptional. The staff are all French and very professional. The food is very high quality with the emphasis on French classics with a modern twist. I bought the cookbook which showcases their food and their two other restaurants. The wine list was superb mainly French but other countries as well. For dinner it was possible to have both a set menu and a la carte.The cheese board is worth a visit just on its own. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very relaxed. There is no dress code but lots of people in jackets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We took time off work to enjoy a Valentine's Day lunch at Lavenham Great House restaurant and we weren't disappointed. The staff were very welcoming and the dining room was pleasantly arranged with plenty of room between tables decked with crisp white linen tablecloths and serviettes to match. The menu offerred a good choice. We eventually chose Scottish mussels dressed with a willted Rocket salad as a starter. Followed by succulent duck breast presented on sweet potato. We couldn't agree on the dessert so I had the chocolate sweet with creme Anglaise and my wife had lemon tartlette with Italien meringue and raspberry coulis. The meal was a delightful diversion from our busy work and took us back to our enjoyable times in France. All in all it was very good value for money. Our compliments to the chef and to Regis and Martine Crepy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I took my Husband here for a birthday lunch. The whole experience was lovely. Very good quality food and wine and good value too. The staff gave great service and the whole experience was very special. We enjoyed it so much we are going to visit again and stay over.

Room Tip: Always book as it is always busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Market Place, Lavenham CO10 9QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lavenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lavenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel and Restaurant in Lavenham is located in the heart of Suffolk offering unmatched service and luxurious accommodation. The Hotel has recently undergone a complete re-fit which has raised the bar to an even higher level. It is an unparalleled experience of exquisite French style and flair, perfectly matched to the heart of English village life offering the best in style and comfort with character and warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Great House Hotel And Restaurant
Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavenham Great House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.