We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abbey Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
The Abbey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   35 Southgate Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP 33 2AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Abbey Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Abbey Hotel was a most pleasant experience. Our room no 9 was a nice size and clean.
The breakfast was a must well cooked and plenty of it.Staff very friendly we could not fault it. We would stay again.
Dave R.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbey H, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm going to expand on the breakfast menu so you'll have even more to eat next time you come. Hope to see you again soon.
Quinton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
8
37
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a lovely double room. Breakfast was great - made to order and the staff were very welcoming! Would definitely recommend this wonferful hotel to anyone visiting the lovely town if Bury St Edmunds.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbey H, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I love our breakfasts too, I think that's why my weight isn't shifting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This well-located, quaint hotel, with beams, fireplace & genuine period features, really delivers what it promises. When the wi-fi didn't work, the charming man on Front Desk immediately ordered his IT man to fix it & the next day I had a fast & reliable Internet access. It's available throughout the hotel. Breakfast is excellent, freshly cooked, generous portions & they offer KIPPERS! It is served smilingly in a pleasant, bright dining room. The family room I stayed in was quiet & comfy, with microwave in kitchen, spotlessly clean. I would definitely stay here again.The staff are very nice indeed, helpful & anxious to please.
The only downside is that there is NO phone in the room.

Room Tip: Room 10 (separate from the main hotel,) has its own entrance, is very quiet, with flat panel TV, sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbey H, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It was a great pleasure to have to visit us and I'm very glad you were so delighted with your room and the staff.
I hope the rest of your tour goes as well as your Bury St Edmunds stop.
Quinton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire lass
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in a family room which is like a little house across the car park. downstairs there was a little kitchenette (fridge, sink, hospitality tray and microwave), a bathroom with a bath and shower cubicle, and two single beds. there are steep stairs to a mezzanine area with a double bed.

The downsides were that the double bed was quite uncomfortable (we both kept rolling out of it), the decor was a bit tired, and the kettle was very furred up. the cups could have been a bit cleaner as well. the good things about this room were that as a family, we didn't have to worry about disturbing other guests, it was nice to have a sleeping area away from the children, and the biscuits were good quality.

The room was about £110 for one night, which I think was pretty reasonable for a family of four. it is about 10 minutes walk into Bury.

Breakfast was a mixed experience as the cereals were not very child friendly (muesli, shredded wheat etc) usually there is at least one coco-pop type cereal. the fresh strawberries were lovely, and you could make your own toast. I have to say I don't really want to share a jar of nutella with all the other guests though.

the cooked breakfast came promptly and was hot and a good quantity. the sausages were tough, I have never experienced this before and did wonder why this could be, since they were not of the premium variety. the staff serving are nice and very helpful, and the sitting area has a nice ambience about it.

all in all it was a good experience I am just trying to paint an honest picture of our stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Please don't be put off by the exterior which does not give away the beatuful rooms that are beyond. Last minute stay in Bury St Edmunds and was shown a room with a wonderful huge fireplace, beautiful bed, crisp linen and period features. Breakfast was excellent and the host was attentative and charming. Was shown the other rooms in the morning and would be happy sleeping in all of them, all have their own character and if you love sleeping the night in a period property but with beautful crisp bedlinen etc this is the one!

Room Tip: All rooms are different but equal in charm & quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddington
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our third stay and just as good as previous occlusions with a warm welcome, clean tidy rooms and an amazing breakfast choice (enough to keep you going for the whole day). Close to the city centre so that great restaurants and places of interest a just 10 minutes away. Well be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Lovely outside and ground floor sitting area, room and upstairs area bit tired and dated, bathroom definitely needs renovating, really comfy bed. Best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel, all well presented and fresh.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: 35 Southgate Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP 33 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.