We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graze Kitchen & Bar

Graze Kitchen & Bar
19-21 Angel Hill, Bury St. Edmunds 1P33 1UZ, England
01284704870
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: informal small plate dining in a relaxed modern setting housed in a 16th century house in the heart of Bury St. Edmunds. There is a Cocktail bar, a private dining room and a meeting room.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A family party of ten of us booked a birthday meal on a Saturday evening. We were a little apprehensive as we had a three week old baby. However, we were advised this wouldn't be a problem and we were given the private dining area, which was fabulous. Our own enclosed space with a record player and library of vinyl to choose from.
The service was very good, with staff responding to our various requests to adjust the temperature of the room. The dining format and menu options were clearly expalined, with recommendations and suggestions given on number and type of dishes to select.

The food was beautifully cooked - I would particularly recommend the scallops, meatballs and rice pudding dessert
We can't wait to visit again with friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grazekitchen, Owner at Graze Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and for bringing us the youngest member of the graze family,
3 weeks old, pretty hard to beat that one. It was great to have you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    99
    30
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My friends and I took over the private dining room for my birthday dinner on Friday. We arrived slightly apprehensive at the prospect of the sharing concept but this soon disappeared once the delicious Haggis and Rabbit bonbons had been demolished. The taste sensations continued as we moved through Earth, Land and Sea with the Beetroot Croquets and Scallops amongst the favourites. We made full use of the selection of vinyl, and room for a dance once the wines and cocktails kicked in.. A lovely evening.. Thanks :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grazekitchen, Owner at Graze Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you. Your party were great and, despite our rather ropey record player (we've got a new one now and it's LOUD) you enjoyed yourselves and your witty comments about the hi-fi made US feel good.

The private dining room is popular and we appreciate it put to it's full potential.

We enjoyed looking after you and hope to see you again soon and happy birthday !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Go with an open mind you will be surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our friend suggested trying this new restaurant out and he discrided it as British tapas, so we thought give it a go,not quite sure what to expect. The menu was unfamilier as we are not used to thinking of British food in a tapas concept, but interesting. We orderd 3 dishes each, with a plan to share and try out. Each one was delicious! Great flavours, the meat on the charcuterie was so lovely we had another.
The wine was also very good too. The staff were very helpful and friendly. So we will be visiting again soon and would recommend others to try it, just go with an open mind!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grazekitchen, Owner at Graze Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always gratifying that when guests come not knowing quite what to expect they leave happy. All kudos to you and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very very nice but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

had lunch here today. A fine dining experience rather like Tapas but dishes come out seperatly.
bread basket with approx 6 slices of different breads, then 3 small rabbit and blackpudding balls.
4 muntjac deer balls in tomatoe sauce. scallops and crispy pig skin .A piece of steak and 4 chips. donar kebab balls. all very small portions but beautifully tasty, slight wait between each dish only served to wet the appetite. all rather nice. If you like large portions then not the place to go. However for fine dining with Nouvelle cuisine style, ambiant music and attentive staff then this is the place for you, ( total bill £38)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grazekitchen, General Manager at Graze Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that you found us expensive, this is not something that we normally hear, we have been very careful to offer our relaxed fine dining at a reasonable and competitive price.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the food and recognised the efforts of our staff, we are very proud of both.

Hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

What an absolute delight , we visited with friends who highly recommended Graze . Food was delectable , service impeccable and staff charmingly attentive . Croquettes are simply scrummy , pork belly is delectable , donner kebab meatballs are amazing , Monkfish is moreish, desserts are divine. We shall be back and will recommended to anyone. Well done Graze your staff are a credit !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grazekitchen, Owner at Graze Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, your alliteration is awesome and we look forward to you frequenting us someday soon.

Really glad you enjoyed it and bring the 'grazer' next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graze Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Graze Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graze Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.