We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a day of relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarice House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bury St. Edmunds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarice House
Save
You added Clarice House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Horringer Road | Horringer Court, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5PH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Lowestoft
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a day of relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was my second day spa at Clarice House, Bury St Edmunds and I will definitely be returning, hopefully for a weekend stay. The staff are very proffessional and the meals they serve are delicious. Nice spa facilities, however it does get quite busy round the pool area and the loungers get hogged by people reserving them with their towels. There is a sign saying not to do this however this does not appeared to be monitored.

Other than that however I cannot fault the place. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    65
    34
    34
    30
See reviews for
36
68
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

After visiting clarice house yesterday we felt very let down by the customer service and facilities. On arrival we was greeted by a grumpy acting teenager who made us feel we were not supposed to be there. She then dumped a few forms for us to fill in and left without leaving us a pen!! We then asked for a tour as this was our first time there and she rolled her eyes and proceeded to show us around, we thought maybe she was having a bad day. We was disappointed there was no other facilities other than a pool, jacuzzi, and sauna, the steam room wasn't working which no one told us on arrival and also no one told the therapists as we got told to sit in the steam room after our massages and manicure!!!!The spa day did not make us feel special, relaxed, or wanted. Seems that management want lots of people for a mediocre experience instead of less people and creating a great experience so people will return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bury St. Edmunds hotels

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The wife and I stayed overnight and enjoyed ourselves very much. It's a lovely old building and Bury St. Edmunds is a nice place to have a bit of a wander. We initially went there for a spa day deal which they offer quite regularly and decided to make a night of it aswell. It was around christmas time and snowing so there was quite a nice romantic air about the place. The dinner we were served in the evening was very nice and we got rather drunk as we were carried away with the pleasent relaxed atmosphere. Service was good too. Before dinner, we sat in the snug under the staircase having thoroughly enjoyed our spa day shenanigans and chilled to the max in our bath robes and slippers. At these times one remembers what life was like without children! A fine breakfast awaited us the following morning, again served to us in the dining room by the polite staff. We shall return...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Clarice house is a beautiful place for a bit of relaxation. Me and my mum arrived for our mother and daughter spa package and was warmly greeted.
We chose to pay extra for breakfast and was then shown to the changing rooms where we could leave our bags for the day.

The package we had included a manicure and a back, neck and shoulder massage. We chose to upgrade the ordinary manicure to the shellac manicure which was no problem.
The only fault with the treatments was the timing. We was not told in advance what time our treatments were therefore missed the first 5 mins of the massage due to it being at the start of the spa day. Had we of known the time of the treatment we would have allowed more time leaving home for breakfast. This took 5-10 mins off of the massage which is disappointing when you pay a lot of money for it.
Our manicure was booked for the afternoon and was on time, however not enough time was allowed for the treatment and so it over ran with other appointments.

The spa facilities are lovely and kept extremely well. The swimming pool a nice size and very clean. What would make the spa better is perhaps an additional steam/sauna room as there is only two, but for us this was plenty. We did not use the gym but this looked impressive also. The changing facilities were very clean and tidy. Plenty of lockers for all guests.

The package included lunch which was absolutely delicious. I believe you can just have a meal at clarice house and this is also something I would recommend. You could not fault the meal we had. The afternoon tea offer was great although this again cost extra.

We did not get a chance to look at the rooms in the hotel part but I am sure if they are anything like the rest of the house they are lovely.

We did end up spending quite a bit on extras so it is a good idea to take money or another form of payment as there are lots of things that do cost extra, but this depends on the package you have.

All in all it was a great day, and we was even given a £10 off voucher each to use on our next visit! We shall definitely be returning!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I visited Clarice House with my mum last week. We had a Bliss Day for Two booked, including two-course lunch and two treatments. There were some areas which looked a bit tired (in the changing rooms and shower areas), however the treatment rooms were nice and the restaurant was welcoming. The meal was brilliant and well presented. We both enjoyed our facials and manicures, with lovely, friendly therapists. I liked that we were not pressured into buying products which were used in our treatments, but we were told about them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just came back from Clarice House , Bury St Edmunds , what a great stay we had
Can't praise this place enough went with a friend for 1 night spa break , and we're extremely impressed. From moment we arrived we were welcomed, by lovely receptionist called Hannah , who was very pleasant , very professional , and made us feel really welcome .
Our room was lovely , very stylish and comfortable , was called Crocus .
The pool area is lovely really clean and spacious , lover steam room , sauna & jacuzzi , plenty of sun loungers , although only complaint , they could do with some cushions on the beds , but still ok
Treatment area is really nice , staff very nice , proffessional and friendly .had facials and no complaints Beautiful building , lovely grounds and surrounding areas
The food well what can , I say Best food ever had in a spa hotel , and we have been to quite a few , had lovely lunch , evening meal , and breakfast , all served and cooked to a very high standard , Clarice House you are spot on with your fantastic chefs well done ! Very good restaurant staff , from waiting staff , to restaurant manager called Will , who was extremely helpful , very pleasant , and excellent at his job !
All in all , as you read we were very happy , can't wait to come again , ( hopefully soon ) a Terrific Hotel & Spa

Room Tip: Crocus , lovely room with single beds , very spacious , but heard all rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

What should have been a fantastic weekend away with friends for a hen weekend sadly was not! We had Lost treatment bookings, not enough time allocated for booked treatments, i.e an hours treatment booked but only allocated 25 minutes! Most of our treatments were booked at least two months in advance as suggested. Not enough loungers or chairs by the pool considering the ammount of people they try to squeeze in during a day. And can hardly call it a Spa with just one plain steam room, a sauna, a Jacuzzi and a pool. They attempted to charge us for treatments which couldn't be fulfilled by the beauty room, as well as ones which we had already paid for! A Very rude, abrupt treatments bookings manager who was unable to rectify their mistakes.
We had Drinks and food on wrong bills, deposit wasn't taken off our final bills, the list is endless. This hotel is obviously living on past reputation.
The only saving grace was the great food and restaurant staff. Round of applause to the catering manager!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarice House

Address: Horringer Road | Horringer Court, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5PH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Clarice House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Clarice House Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Clarice Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Clarice Spa Bury St Edmunds
Clarice House Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarice House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.