We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My weekend treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bushel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St. Edmunds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bushel
Save
You added The Bushel to your Saves list
28 / 29 St Johns Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1SN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My weekend treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Always worth visiting the Bushell for great atmosphere, great food and great service. We go on Saturdays for drinks and food with friends. Our relatives have stayed here and loved it. The staff are brilliant and the british food platter is excellent quality and great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    31
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
67
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed at The Bushel a couple of months ago for a work colleagues leaving dinner. Although this was held at a different location in Bury we were impressed with our overnight stay at The Bushel, so much so that we booked a room for the Friday night over the weekend of the Bury Christmas Market.
Although there was plenty of food on offer at the market we decided to save ourselves for the evening when we had a table booked for dinner at The Bushel. We were not disappointed with a good selection on the menu. There is a good selection of beer and the staff are a credit to The Bushel as nothing was too much trouble.
The room was clean and very well appointed and to top off the stay a fantastic breakfast sent us on our way home on Saturday morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very friendly staff, room was relaxing and comfortable. Very good decor throughout. Breakfast choice and quality very good. Hotel very well located with easy / free parking. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Had room 7 at the front. Very quiet, smallish but very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

just got back from a weekend stay at the bushel cant fault it clean friendly and welcoming in the town centre with parking brilliant will def stay again breakfast was very good with several choices top class

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Anglia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Staff were very friendly and service very efficient. Food was good . I had steak pie one day and fish and chips another. Both very well presented and tasted delicious.Haven't stayed so can't comment on the rooms

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk,UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had heard locally that the Bushell was good so I booked a table for 4 for Sunday lunch.
I love the decor and it is spacious with different sitting areas. They had obviously been busy as most of the tables were dirty and took a while to be cleared. The staff were pleasant but were trying to serve at the bar as well as the food so service was slow.
My sweet potato fries were sitting on an inch of oil - the waitress agreed and took them off our bill. My husband was disappointed with his meat pie and my daughters too were underwhelmed with their choice. We were overall very disappointed with the quality of the food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had an overnight stay in The Bushel last week. It cost £74.95 per night including a full English breakfast. The room was very spacious and we were made very welcome. We had another comfortable stay. Worth the money as the second night we stayed somewhere else cheaper and the difference was noticeable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bushel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushel

Address: 28 / 29 St Johns Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Bushel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bushel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.