We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular cinema goer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeygate Cinema

Abbeygate Cinema
4 Hatter Street, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1NZ, England (Formerly Abbeygate Picturehouse)
+44 871 902 5722
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Regular cinema goer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Friendly staff - good facilities - comfortable viewing. Good pre booking system. Good selection of films.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    22
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfort, class, a theatre experience in a cinema!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the theatre like experience when I first visited the cinema last year, that at Christmas I treated myself to membership. It's such a good deal, I've got my money's worth now in April. The seats are comfy, reclinable, with holds for the glasses of wine you can take into the auditorium. The best seats are the sofas with cushions that you can sink into. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. With the membership you can get 10% discount in the bar/cafe with is also worth a visit serving healthy delicious food. Make your own burgers! You can use the cafe also without going to the cinema. Go go go. It's a great experience. Going to a normal cinema will be disappointing after this. It's not any more expensive either. In fact, it might be a bit cheaper.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening out with a ifference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you want a lovely cinema experience which is far more special than usual then this is it!!
Reasonably prices, comfy seating, fantastic staff
You cant beat it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Picturehouse Group saved our lovely little independent cinema, putting in new seating and state of the art screens and now the latest phase is the gorgeous new cafe and restaurant. In the winter we visit at least once a week to see a film but now there's another reason to support them - lovely food and drinks even when you're not seeing a film.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Beautiful experience that I try to fit in most weeks. Whether solo or with friends, its a luxury. Staf friendly and long term, films varied and food is to die for - try No. 4 Hatter St - the restaurant at the same venue. Burgers fantastic

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbeygate Cinema also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Abbeygate Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeygate Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.