We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel great..apart from the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Angel Hotel to your Saves list
The Angel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Angel Hill, Bury St. Edmunds 1P33 1LT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hotel great..apart from the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found the staff very welcoming and helpful throughout. So nice to have the very friendly porter take your luggage to your room and park your car, gets your stay off to a good start. We had a lovely room (017) which is in the annexe at the front of the building, recently had a revamp and was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

We dined I the Hotel restaurant on our first night, service was fine as was my dinner but my husbands was a big disappointment, very tough meat and fairly minimal portions, certainly not value for money, as there are many other eateries in town I would not recommend eating in the hotel. Breakfast is a bit hit and miss, again mean portions and everything was luke warm.

I would certainly stay here again but would go out to eat, even for breakfast.

Room Tip: Can only offer opinion on room 017 which was very comfortable.....but no view as it is ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    234
    123
    41
    27
See reviews for
67
355
30
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Hotel itself is what I would call ostentatious in it's decor. Some of this works, i.e. the dining room with it's eclectic collection of art was excellent. The rest is all a bit too boutique for my taste. The Zebra skin covered chair next to the reception desk is both tasteless and offensive.

Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable, decor was a bit commercial. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. Every facility is provided in the room. My biggest gripe was that the windows are sealed shut. There is air conditioning in the room, but I prefer fresh air and it got very warm and stuffy at night. Strangely the bed did not have a valance fitted, and the basin has a crack right across it, which all looks a bit scruffy.

Breakfast was very good and the service very pleasant. It was not as generous as I expected, we were only offered one glass of juice, and there didn't appear to be any help yourself cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc. My full english was very nice but who would think of cutting one mushroom and a slice of black pudding in half unless they were on an economy drive?

My biggest dislike with this hotel was their request to take your car keys away. This felt a bit like a removal of my freedom. I also have concerns about personal security when handing over my keys. I hope this idea doesn't catch on with Hotels, I'm not going to leave without paying and to date I can carry my own bags, I know some people need and like this kind of service, I believe it should very much be optional.

Room Tip: Insist on keeping your car keys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have stayed here several times as family live in the area. Would normally recommend to others but not anymore!. First room offered was ground floor facing the car park. curtain was off the track, hole in wall where tieback had been. Moved to courtyard room to find there were no drawers to put clothes in, sink had no plug so attendant suggested keeping hot water running to have a shave!!!! Poor standard of decor needs decorating in many areas. Finally manager moved us to romantic suite on top floor. Nicer room but a little noisy as sash window had broken string and was open. Price does not reflect quality and economy measures are very obvious to customers i.e.very little butter with toast, tiny milk jugs, poor portions for breakfast. Feels like there has been a change of ownership.

Room Tip: Avoid courtyard rooms. Ask to check the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed for one night after a spa day at Centre Parcs. On arrival we were met by a very helpful staff member that carried our bags to our room and parked our car in the rear car park. The standard double room was a good quality and very clean. Everything was going well until the morning when we were woken by a very noisy heating system. This we could live with but the breakfast was a disaster.
The hotel boasts about the award winning restaurant. The evening menu is very expensive and therefore we went elsewhere. The breakfast was included with our hotel price so we expected a really good start to the day. However, the menu offered no vegetarian alternatives apart from serials or a full English with no meat. This would have been okay if the missing meat was replaced by an extra egg or mushrooms. Is it that difficult to have vegetarian sausages and hash browns in the freezer?
When the cut down full English arrived, it was terrible. The fried bread was rock hard and inedible. The egg and beans were overcooked. This was unacceptable for an award winning restaurant. Obviously the breakfast was cooked by somebody unqualified because most residents had already paid up front. It was the worst breakfast we have ever had in all our traveling experience.
This bad experience was amplified by a family that was allowed to have their dog with them in the restaurant sitting in between them on the seat at the table. Surely this cant be allowed and breaks food hygiene regulations. The staff overlooked this issue. Not good enough Angel Hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have no view of the Abbey if they are standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a good quality comfortable hotel. The decor and furnishing is pleasing without being in your face pretentious.

The room I had was reasonably spacious.

The bed was a little on the soft side for my liking and noise travel between rooms is typical of older hotels, but nevertheless I slept well.

Service was at a good level without being intrusive.

I only had a light breakfast but that did look to be of a good standard too.

Obviously if you are visiting Bury this is about as central as it gets.

I paid £135 per night for my room and I could not really fault it at that price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

From checking in right up till leaving, we were left with the impression that everyone was so pleasant and helpful, not because they had to be, but because they were genuine. We stayed two nights and had an excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

How nice to be met by the porter, your luggage taken care of and likewise our car. We have only experienced this previously at a 4 star hotel in Bath. The service level stayed up there with the best, in fact the entire staff at all times seemed pleased to see us and could not have been more helpful. We stayed in the Graham Greene suit, which décor wise, was a little tired but the view and lack of noise, despite being at the front of the hotel more than made up for it. The only downside was the restaurant décor which did not seem sympathetic to the character of the building. The eating experience was also a little disappointing with rather obvious portion control. Although we are not big eaters the starters were on the mean side regarding quantity. On our first night my wife chose halibut (her favourite fish) and a very tired cut arrived which was curling at the edges and it came as no surprise that this option was crossed off the specials board. The following night we both chose duck breast which came with beetroot and potatoes. The beetroot comprised of two pieces the size of tangerine segments and we felt that at £21.95 they could have given more vegetables. This theme was continued through to breakfast, the Suffolk comprised half of a slice of black pudding, one small sausage and first for me, only one egg although not being a big eater that was fine. The butter supplied was totally inadequate for the toast and we had to request more. However, these were minor irritations and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St. Edmunds 1P33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.