We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Country High-Living” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Angel Hotel to your Saves list
The Angel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Angel Hill, Bury St. Edmunds 1P33 1LT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Starry Nights
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and Country High-Living”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We headed to Bury St. Edmunds to see Judie Tzuke at the Apex and chose The Angel for our overnight stay. The teenagers bagged the upstairs room which was stunning - lots of space, beautifully furnished and great views of the Abbey. We took the ground floor room which was perfectly adequate but for only a tenner less was disappointing having seen the room in the main part of the hotel...
We were taken good care of and the teenagers (aged 15 & 19) really appreciated their surroundings. My only gripe was trying to get a drink in the lounge once the kids had headed to bed...I managed to get two in an hour? Is that being too picky?

Room Tip: Ask for one in the main building, the newer ones are less classy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    218
    111
    36
    23
See reviews for
62
318
28
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury st edmunds
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great hotel,super food catering for all kinds.The views of the abbey are fantastic.The hotel is central to everything in the beautiful town of Bury St Edmunds,with its narrow streets and curio shops as well as the Arc Shopping Centre.Back to the Angel.The rooms Are beautiful,the dinning areas are clean and there is plenty of seating.Very kind staff always eager to help.All in all a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited The Angel Hotel on the Saturday evening of the Easter Weekend, very busy but still managed to get a table just a few days beforehand. We were sat on a very small table in the centre of the restaurant with someone sitting very close right behind me. Felt as though they we were virtually sitting on top of each other. Staff, as always were very friendly and efficient. Food was very flavoursome, portions limited with very little vegetables on the side. Have been here on many occasions but must say of late the prices seem to be rising every time I visit. I feel for 2 glasses of wine, 2 starters and 2 main courses the 75:00 we were charged, was very over priced. Maybe only suitable for very special occasions in future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great stay in The Angel, rooms were nicely decorated and very quiet. Brilliant location to go out and explore the town and close to local bars and restaurants. Quite expensive so probably good as a treat or more luxury stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic hotel, i was treated like royalty as was all my family members, the food was excellent along with the service. Nothing was to much trouble i spent 2 days there, located in the heart of Bury St Edmunds across the road from the Abbey Gardens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just had one night for a diamond wedding celebration ,and could not fault a thing. The service from start to finish was excellent,the staff were very helpful and looked after us so well. The rooms were lovely and the food was first class. Thankyou.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed overnight here with friends and our whole party were very disappointed with our experience here. At £130 a night we expected a room with a little more comfort. The furnishings were the cheapest possible. We had a shower where the shower head was so close to the door of the shower that most of the water went over the floor. A rack to hold the soap or shampoo within the shower was missing so one was forced to use the floor of the shower. The sash window could only be wedged open with the aid of a toilet roll to allow for ventilation. The location of the room was nice enough at the front of the hotel and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Sadly there was no water in the room or mini bar. The latter did not worry us but at the price we felt that the supply of water should be standard. We had a good meal in the restaurant but the portion size was meagre and £3 for a few lettuce leaves outrageous. We left feeling that this did not represent good value for money and we would not return,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St. Edmunds 1P33 1LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic.Our Suffolk hotel is right in the centre of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep.Once inside, the Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The restaurant has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat.In 2012, the hotel opened our new Wingspan bar. Decadently curious and located in the 12th Century vault under the hotel, Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.