We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe

Giraffe
Parkway Bury St Edmunds, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 3BA, England
01284 753 013
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Malton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent service, Shown to a table and drinks order taken straight away and delivered straight away. Not a long wait for the food and when it came it was very tasty and hot, Waitress very attentive but not overpowering. Overall a really good experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast with a difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We visit Giraffe on several occasions and find the service a bit hit and miss, very slow or inattentive to the needs of young children. The food has got better and we have made this a regular visit on a Sunday morning with their twist on a 'normal' breakfast quite good and very tasty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

When it first opened Giraffe was a regular lunch time venue for us.
However the last 3 times we went we felt that it was a one off ..... how wrong we were.
What has the company Giraffe done?

The spirit has gone as well as the customers.
The staff are not motivated and the value has gone.
Food is hit and miss, while the price you charge for soft drinks is a rip off.

Please Mr Giraffe, take an interest in your staff and your customers.
Pay a visit yourself, and see for yourself.
You are surrounded by much better eateries in Bury St Edmunds,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Bright and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stopped in here for a bite before going to the cinema. The dining room was bright and modern,with a more contemporary feel than many places. The music (which I didn't find too loud) was also more trendy, without being off putting for older customers.

The serving staff were friendly and helpful. When we asked about serving times we were told 15 minutes from time of order. We let the server know we had 45 minutes until our film, and she said she would see if the kitchen would speed things up for us. True to her word, the food was delivered to the table in just under 15 minutes.

My partner had enchiladas and I the veggy burrito, both were prepared well and tasty. The selection of sauces on the table was impressive with three different chili/pepper sauces, in addition to the usual mustard, mayo, and ketchup.

The menu is not cheap, but is fairly good value for money especially taking the quality of the food into consideraton. Overall a positive experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Never again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Music was WAY too loud, service was poor, food coming out was slow. We went for my mums birthday and very nearly left. Keeping 3 young kids (under 3) entertained for an hour was ridiculous! Food was quite tasty but I'd never bother going back. It was also over priced. Better places to eat close by.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giraffe also viewed

 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.