We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regency Hotel Bury St Edmunds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regency House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St. Edmunds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regency House Hotel
Save
You added Regency House Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3 Looms Lane, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Regency Hotel Bury St Edmunds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hi,
I have stayed at this hotel quite a few time and it is amazing 1st class rooms all spotless, The service is second to none and all the staff go that extra mile to assist you from helping with your luggage to delivering food to your room, There is a great public house and restaurant with the hotel been a lady alone on business so room service is 1st class.

This is a small friendly Hotel and for the lady staying alone while on business is perfect
Room 17 is excellent my favourite but all rooms are spacious and well furnished. So if your looking for a great hotel in Bury St Edmunds there is none better than the Regency. you will be very satisfied with your stay.
Thank you to all staff. a pleasure to stay at your hotel.

Room Tip: Room 17 is fantastic however all room are 1st class and very clean. you will not be disappointed wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
18
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had an overnight stay recently, the hotel is in a great location, minutes walk from the town. The staff were all very friendly and made you feel very welcome. Our room was huge, lovely comfortable bed, big comfy sofa in front of a huge tv. will definately be rebooking to stay again

Room Tip: we stayed in the balcony room, is a little more expensive, but worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here previously and decided to accept the management recommendation to try the re-decorated balcony room for our recent stay in September 2013. The room has 1940s décor but it has been carefully restored. It is very spacious with a large red, velvet-covered settee and large screen TV. The balcony gives a pleasant view over part of the town. The thing to be aware of is the steps up to the bathroom - or more importantly, be careful exiting the bathroom!
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, breakfast and dinner were great and served in a relaxing atmosphere. The lounge bar is very comfortable and a relaxing place to enjoy the atmosphere and the company of your guests.
This hotel is in an excellent location within very easy walking distance to the town centre and Abbey Gardens.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs there are ground floor rooms with good access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My first ever review as i normally read them.
We usually stay in premier inns and have done for 20 years.
On this occasion at 4 in the afternoon , we luckily stumbled on this great hotel.
Yes i know some people say it needs updating a little , but thats called character.
Our room was fantastic , comfy beds , sofa , we even had a conservatory on ours, for £91 bargain.
My favorite part was the restaurant , the food was to die for ( this is from someone who has spent 30 years on the road) . The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Most customers went out to eat , which if they realised how good the food is they might have eaten here.
Try It you wont be dissapointed.
My tip to them was get a facebook page , this place needs shouting about

Room Tip: Room 320 was our room if you want the conservatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartmore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I arrived at 830pm on a Sunday evening to find the reception deserted. I rang the bell three times and in the end I went searching for staff who were sitting in the bar chatting. The room itself was at the end of a rabbit warren passing one corridor blocked with what looked like laundry bags. The room was dated and a little past it's best and although the bathroom looked as if it had been renovated recently the shower lacked any power which meant that if you moved around the shower you would stay dry. Breakfast was average - the buffet consisted of a selection of cereal and fruit juice and/or something cooked from the menu. In its favour the wifi is free and fast but that's not enough to recommend a stay. I wouldn't go back and have advised others to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have always stayed in the Regency when working in Bury st Edmunds and thats been for some 20 years on and off.
The food is great and staff are friendly,the hotel has recently been refurbished in areas like dining room and bedrooms and it now has WiFi so well in the 21st century but the bathroom in R16 must be the smallest on the planet.
very nice hotel and kept in the style of the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Chose this hotel because of its proximity to Bury town centre, has its own off street parking and was reasonably priced. First impression is a bit shabby, but its a real gem in the making - just needs a little more polish. Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome.

Afraid we were probably the elephants, we had a room upstairs with a balcony overlooking the car park. The room was very large with settee and huge telly, French doors were particularly handy as the temperature during our stay was much more than we are used too and clean fresh bedding during our three day stay was greatly appreciated.

The bathroom (up three narrow steps) was clean and looked recently renovated though the shower head reduced the water pressure to a sprinkle (due to the water I know, but could be easily sorted). Had a bar meal which was excellent as was the very tasty breakfast each morning.

Would recommend this hotel, and as other reviewers have stated, if it continues to renovate will be a real jewel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House Hotel

Address: 3 Looms Lane, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.