We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is too much trouble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chantry Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bury St. Edmunds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chantry Hotel
Save Saved
You added The Chantry Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Sparhawk St, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Dublin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nothing is too much trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having read other trip reviews we felt this was the place to stay in Bury St E. We soon discovered it was, our room was very good so was the single room our fiend stayed in, so was the excellent breakfast and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived late Saturday afternoon, checked in and decided to explore the town and a local decent beer before we eventually headed off to pre booked dinner. On our return to the Chantry we discovered we had a flat tyre, not a good day of the week to have one of these. The next morning the owner Nigel made it his business to help us out, he arranged for the spare tyre to be changed over and checked out on-line that there was one place open outside the town to get the repair fixed. He made it all so simple for us including great directions to find the repairer and none of this potential stressful situation was allowed to hinder our very pleasant stay thanks to Nigel. Don't hesitate to come to this very pleasant place and experience great hospitality and service - nothing is too much trouble here! Thanks Nigel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
33
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay at The Chantry, and what a find! Quaint and charming, my wife and I couldn't fault it. Peaceful location, parking, yet close to town centre. Delicious breakfast! Will most certainly return soon.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It's not flashy but is really well located, good parking and the couple who ran it were friendly and helpful. The room was small and ok, nothing to write home about, bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was seriously good. We stayed here because we were at a party locally - would stop over again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Small hotel with great breakfast. Central for town cathedral theatre and easy to get to lavenham and Cambridge. If only evening meals. But four min from restaurants. We will come again. A good family business.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Easy parking and convenient location. Pleasant enough room. Very good breakfast - especially liked tip tree ketchup and brown sauce! With a bit of attention to things like toiletries and furnishings it would feel more of a boutique - but fine as it is really.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel has the feel of a decent B & B so don't expect anything flash. But it is well located, has parking, and the beds in our twin room (6) were unusually comfortable. It was a good night. I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Room 6 (twin) was quiet, looking out over courtyard car park to historic church beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

At £89 for a single per night I was expecting the Chantry to be firmly in "quality" territory. It gets there in many respects, and the location is good, but for me it was a bit of a let-down in comparison with the B&B I'd stayed in the previous two nights for around half the price. The service is OK, if you like hotel staff in jeans and t-shirt, and the room and facilities reasonable quality, but a few issues let down the overall deal. The breakfast is no better than bog standard (e.g. stewed mushrooms that smell like old dishcloths, undercooked bargain-basement tomatoes, bog standard tinned grapefruit/prune options, crockery and glasses not overly clean, and a broken cafetiere on my first morning, mineral water in room not replenished on 2nd day). The bed was good but had a thick duvet much too warm for the season, with no blanket options. Wifi was present but intermittent in my far-flung room (9), making for a frustrating time when trying to work. Also, they "did" my room while I was at breakfast, which for some reason I find very wrong - wait til I'm out of the building please. On the positive side, they generously allowed me to use the car park after checking out for my final hours in the town - much appreciated.

Room Tip: Room 9 pleasant, but is up quite a lot of narrows stairs and the WiFi was unreliable for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chantry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chantry Hotel

Address: 8 Sparhawk St, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chantry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chantry Hotel is situated in the heart of historic Bury St Edmunds. close to the town centres shops and resturants it boasts 14 un-suite rooms with a bar/lounge for the guests to use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chantry Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chantry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.