We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chantry Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bury St. Edmunds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chantry Hotel
Save
You added The Chantry Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Sparhawk St, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay at The Chantry, and what a find! Quaint and charming, my wife and I couldn't fault it. Peaceful location, parking, yet close to town centre. Delicious breakfast! Will most certainly return soon.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
34
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It's not flashy but is really well located, good parking and the couple who ran it were friendly and helpful. The room was small and ok, nothing to write home about, bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was seriously good. We stayed here because we were at a party locally - would stop over again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Small hotel with great breakfast. Central for town cathedral theatre and easy to get to lavenham and Cambridge. If only evening meals. But four min from restaurants. We will come again. A good family business.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Easy parking and convenient location. Pleasant enough room. Very good breakfast - especially liked tip tree ketchup and brown sauce! With a bit of attention to things like toiletries and furnishings it would feel more of a boutique - but fine as it is really.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel has the feel of a decent B & B so don't expect anything flash. But it is well located, has parking, and the beds in our twin room (6) were unusually comfortable. It was a good night. I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Room 6 (twin) was quiet, looking out over courtyard car park to historic church beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

At £89 for a single per night I was expecting the Chantry to be firmly in "quality" territory. It gets there in many respects, and the location is good, but for me it was a bit of a let-down in comparison with the B&B I'd stayed in the previous two nights for around half the price. The service is OK, if you like hotel staff in jeans and t-shirt, and the room and facilities reasonable quality, but a few issues let down the overall deal. The breakfast is no better than bog standard (e.g. stewed mushrooms that smell like old dishcloths, undercooked bargain-basement tomatoes, bog standard tinned grapefruit/prune options, crockery and glasses not overly clean, and a broken cafetiere on my first morning, mineral water in room not replenished on 2nd day). The bed was good but had a thick duvet much too warm for the season, with no blanket options. Wifi was present but intermittent in my far-flung room (9), making for a frustrating time when trying to work. Also, they "did" my room while I was at breakfast, which for some reason I find very wrong - wait til I'm out of the building please. On the positive side, they generously allowed me to use the car park after checking out for my final hours in the town - much appreciated.

Room Tip: Room 9 pleasant, but is up quite a lot of narrows stairs and the WiFi was unreliable for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our "de luxe" room was quiet and spacious, though we were surprised to find only a standard double bed. Our booking was for a couple, so we spent some time looking through the (well appointed) bathroom for a second set of towels - to no avail.

Breakfast was a disappointment, with hard poached eggs and coffee which seemed to have had only fleeting exposure to coffee beans; as so often, toast was served before the meal, so was not at its best when that came. After that first morning we ate elsewhere for the remainder of our stay.

However, the room was quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chantry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chantry Hotel

Address: 8 Sparhawk St, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chantry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chantry Hotel is situated in the heart of historic Bury St Edmunds. close to the town centres shops and resturants it boasts 14 un-suite rooms with a bar/lounge for the guests to use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chantry Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chantry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.