We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unassuming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chantry Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bury St. Edmunds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chantry Hotel
Save
You added The Chantry Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Sparhawk St, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Sussex
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“unassuming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel has the feel of a decent B & B so don't expect anything flash. But it is well located, has parking, and the beds in our twin room (6) were unusually comfortable. It was a good night. I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Room 6 (twin) was quiet, looking out over courtyard car park to historic church beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    33
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
36
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brecon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

At £89 for a single per night I was expecting the Chantry to be firmly in "quality" territory. It gets there in many respects, and the location is good, but for me it was a bit of a let-down in comparison with the B&B I'd stayed in the previous two nights for around half the price. The service is OK, if you like hotel staff in jeans and t-shirt, and the room and facilities reasonable quality, but a few issues let down the overall deal. The breakfast is no better than bog standard (e.g. stewed mushrooms that smell like old dishcloths, undercooked bargain-basement tomatoes, bog standard tinned grapefruit/prune options, crockery and glasses not overly clean, and a broken cafetiere on my first morning, mineral water in room not replenished on 2nd day). The bed was good but had a thick duvet much too warm for the season, with no blanket options. Wifi was present but intermittent in my far-flung room (9), making for a frustrating time when trying to work. Also, they "did" my room while I was at breakfast, which for some reason I find very wrong - wait til I'm out of the building please. On the positive side, they generously allowed me to use the car park after checking out for my final hours in the town - much appreciated.

Room Tip: Room 9 pleasant, but is up quite a lot of narrows stairs and the WiFi was unreliable for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our "de luxe" room was quiet and spacious, though we were surprised to find only a standard double bed. Our booking was for a couple, so we spent some time looking through the (well appointed) bathroom for a second set of towels - to no avail.

Breakfast was a disappointment, with hard poached eggs and coffee which seemed to have had only fleeting exposure to coffee beans; as so often, toast was served before the meal, so was not at its best when that came. After that first morning we ate elsewhere for the remainder of our stay.

However, the room was quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed here for 6 months while relocating with work. I found the hotel to be very clean, with lovely rooms and very friendly staff. The hotel is in a great location with plenty of parking.

The breakfast options were excellent and the food was always cooked to perfection using local produce.

Great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Really like this hotel. Bedroom has character but with modern conveniences. Breakfast was perfect and like the fact hotel uses local suppliers. Only loses a star for us just outside the very centre of a Bury. Though it's a pleasant walk in.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are accessed up quite a narrow spiral staircase. Ask for a first floor room if mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I spent one night at the Chantry Hotel en route to visiting sick friends by taxi at the Stowlangtoft Nursing Home. (There is offstreet parking but I didn't need it.) I had a confirmed price for a single room but was upgraded at no extra cost to a double room. The bed was luxuriously crisp and soft, the small bathroom well planned and equipped with good towels and consumables, the central heating working well. There was a phone, coffee/tea making kit and hairdryer. The room and bathroom were immaculate though not ultra-modern. I would have liked a tiny table to write cards on or for bedside essentials. I could not get the shower to emulate the great hot water in the hand basin, but perhaps I was impatient. There is a nice lounge next to reception, where there is also a drinks service. The breakfast room is very smart (the smartest place I saw in the hotel) and I had a good breakfast of cereal, fruit juice, poached eggs and generous toast and coffee. There are other cooked options. The management are friendly without imposing themselves and the street is quiet. Checkout is at 10.30 a.m. but bags are kept for later collection without a fuss. The price was £75 — more a hotel price than a B&B price although essentially this is a B&B. Without a car I was pleased to find this location a stone's throw from the historic monuments and I was happy to be welcomed as a solo traveller — never a certainty. The hotel's list of dining options in the town seemed a little outdated. I chose Prezzo — not a very original choice but a good experience in itself. Costa's in Waterstone's bookshop is a nice branch for morning coffee with the old Ottakar's murals still intact. But the town has a wealth of independent coffee and snack bars during the day.

Room Tip: Room 2 in the main building is easily accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The feel is more of a good B&B rather than an enchanting "period house"hotel .The decor is unimpressive with mostly pine furniture you are more likely to encounter in a B&B.Our "de luxe" bedroom was adequate and understated .We had a narrow double bed with a very uncomfortable mattress.The redeeming features however were a central location, pleasant friendly service and a very good breakfast.May be the annexe has got a bit more to offer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantry1, Owner at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. We always take note of customer reviews as they help us to improve the service we offer. Most of our double bedded rooms have standard double beds but we do have a few rooms that have king size beds. If you need a larger bed you would need to let us know when you make a booking. The room you had was furnished with contemporary light oak furniture and a Victorian satin walnut dressing table. We do have rooms furnished with antique French and English beds in the older parts of the hotel although these rooms tend to be smaller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chantry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chantry Hotel

Address: 8 Sparhawk St, Bury St. Edmunds IP33 1RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bury St. Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chantry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chantry Hotel is situated in the heart of historic Bury St Edmunds. close to the town centres shops and resturants it boasts 14 un-suite rooms with a bar/lounge for the guests to use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chantry Hotel Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chantry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.