We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight after Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiln Farm Guest House

Kiln Farm Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bury St. Edmunds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiln Farm Guest House
Save
You added Kiln Farm Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kiln Lane | Elmswell, Bury St. Edmunds IP30 9QR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overnight after Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our 3 kids June 2013. Really nice owners who could not have been more helpful or welcoming. Rooms were perfect for our needs and it felt like a home from home rather than a sterile hotel.

It's the little touches and genuine caring attitude that sets these places apart and if you are looking for a fair price and good old fashioned customer service then you'll not go wrong.

Would not hesitate to return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on 20 April after a wedding nearby at haughley park barn. Room was lovely and they had thought of everything. Well kept and stocked room.
Owners really helpful and friendly. Took us to pick up our car we left at the venue
Breakfast was amazing. Great quality cooked breakfast
Beautiful location
Loved it
Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

looking forward to our return aug 2012
a family get to gether and been coming now 3years
dave and jan are the greatest hosts
great food
and they are very helpful
there is nowhere better than kiln farm
kid friendly
look forward to seeing dave and jan soon

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have just got back from a weekend stay at Kiln Farm as we were attending a wedding at Haughley Park. There were four of us, we had rooms 2 & 8 which were very clean & comfortable, lovely soft towels, chocs, tea, coffee etc etc, even a water filter!!. Dave & Jan are the perfect hosts, on arrival we were greeted with a choice of tea or coffee & a lovely big plate of biscuits, breakfast was made to your choice which again was excellant, my daughter is vegetarian and coeliac and they catered for her perfectely. I could go on about Kiln Farm and Dave & Jan but I'll finish by saying...........if you're reading all the reviews, don't hesitate...........just book it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed at Kiln Farm for just over 9 months whilst working at a local food factory.
This is the best B & B I have ever stayed, amde even better by the great hosts, Jan and Dave.
Rooms are always clean and tidy, with good facilities, good beds and great showers. Some rooms also have baths if you prefer.
The food, oh my the food, is just fabulous. Jan's cooking is guaranteed to put a few extra pounds on you but you will not be able to say no.
All freshly cooked, and generally a choice of meal too, which for a small B & B is quite amazing.
Nothing is too much trouble when you stay.
At 1 point during my time here I was feeling a little under the weather. When I got back that night there were some paracetomol and lemsip left in my room...! You wouldn't get that at a chain hotel.
The area is rural and quiet, and in the summer the courtyard is a lovely place to sit and relax with a beer, or whatever you prefer.

If I am ever looking for somewhere to stay in Suffolk, as long as Jan and Dave are running the place this will always be my first choice, can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main house have better water pressure on the showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Lovely location in Suffolk, with plenty of activities nearby for the children. Food stunning (local produce!). I had a crayfish salad and the children got spoiled rotten. Lots of place for the children to run around and our family rooms with a bathroom were private and functional. Welcoming family run place.

Room Tip: contact the owners about your requirements. They are very friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We booked in at Kiln Farm as we were attending my sisters 25th Wedding Anniversary in Elmswell. We could not have done better. The service and attentiveness by Dave & Jan is second to none. The rooms are very homely, clean and more "extra's" than you can imagine. Then to top it we asked for an evening meal and it was superb.
Many thanks for the kind hospitality, the excellent service and food from the bar and kitchen on Friday and the most excellent full English on both Saturday and much needed on Sunday. We will be back

Room Tip: It won't matter as they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiln Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiln Farm Guest House

Address: Kiln Lane | Elmswell, Bury St. Edmunds IP30 9QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St. Edmunds
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiln Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Kiln Farm Guest House Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiln Farm Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.