We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regatta Restaurant

Regatta Restaurant
171-173 High Street, Aldeburgh IP15 5AN, England
+44 (0)1728 452011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Price range: $0 - $61
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Turned up without a reservation and was quickly seated although the restaurant was busy and served by very professional and efficient staff. Great menu and too many delicious specials to choose from! I had the lamb and ratatouille which was perfectly cooked and he had a chicken salad, which he says is the best he's ever had! Lovely restaurant, which I hope we will return to!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    90
    22
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went here for my mother-in-law's birthday. We had a really lovely meal. We shared delicious home made taramasalata as a nibble before our starters. I had the quartet of smoked fish as a starter while my wife had the same as a main course, the flavours were exceptional. The other starters, mussels in a tomato sauce and the minestrone soup were equally delicious. I had a very fresh tasting cod wrapped in bacon with chorizo and chick peas. My mother-in-law had a delicately smoked chicken Caesar salad. We drank an excellent and reasonably priced viognier.
When we booked we did not mention that it was my mother-in-law's birthday but Rob Mabey the proprietor discovered it and coffee came with delicious fudge on a large white plate inscribed with Happy Birthday and the correct number of years. She was thrilled. Lovely food, truly exceptional kindness and service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced and average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We came here for a meal on Easter Sunday during a weekend stay in Aldeburgh and we were very disappointed. I ordered one of the fish specials (turbot) and it was overcooked and dry and my partner had scallops and felt the same. We went to the Lighthouse restaurant last year and we felt that it was much better quality. We won't be returning to this restaurant during future stays in Aldeburgh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First time and hopefully not the last!
Friendly staff - excellent food (athough the oysters were not native) - cosy surroundings on a cold snowy night - reasonably priced! In short Excellent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Owner at Regatta Restaurant, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your response.We are very glad you had a good evening.Native oysters are a little pricey for our menu so we use a great Gigas(rock oyster) from the the Carlingford oyster company,
great people to deal with and reared in grade A Irish waters and sent over night by carrier.
All packaged and sent by the lovely Charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never fails to deliver - a real family favourite.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have been coming to the regatta for many years and it is consistently good, the service is always good and helpful accommodating changes of arrangements with good humour. The food is good with an excellent specials board but the Brandon rost salmon is always good. The kids menu is great we have been taking ours since they were new born - if I had one niggle I wish they hadn't taken the salmon off it ! Overall no trip to aldeburgh is complete without a visit to the regatta.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Owner at Regatta Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for the review,always ask for the salmon,we can normally do it for you,so nice to see all our holiday customers back for the Easter break.All part of being a family restaurant,having been here so long the wee ones now have wee ones.Happy Easter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regatta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Regatta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regatta Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.