We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club to your Saves list
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lakeside Avenue | Thorpeness, Aldeburgh IP16 4NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location is super and when we arrived the set up restaurant was very inviting. The service was a little lacking but the food was very acceptable and tasty. We took coffee in the lounge which is the golf clubhouse, which is very interesting showing all the golf tournament winners going back to the 30"s.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The club was founded in 1922 and the walls of the clubhouse are covered with the winner of club honours since its inception. To this day the James Braid designed course is regarded as one of the coastal heathland course in Britain with the hotel sandwiched between the golf course and Meare. Come and see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    92
    25
    15
    3
See reviews for
25
106
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were well equipped, bed was a bit soft but huge! Bathroom was clean and the shower was lovely. We had a lovely breakfast the in the morning but didn't try the restaurant. The are is beautiful with plenty of places to walk.
For a couple aged 25.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Suffolk Heritage Coast is a walkers paradise with Minsmere (Home of Springwatch) just a short car ride or a 4 mile walk as the crow flies from Thorpeness. Come and stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Just back from Thorpness hotel and golf with friends and we all had a wonderful time. Our room had been recently refurbished very clean and everything we needed. My only critisium would be the breakfast staff in the morning it was so slow having ordered our cooked breakfast which did not come with toast or was asked if we would like toast we then had to wait again. The young girls are not very experienced and I think there should be another experience person looking over them. This is only an observation but annoying at the time. Looking forward to our return visit the meal in the evening was excellent and accommodated us asking for small potions of crab as a starter which should have been for the main course.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give me your valuable feedback which we always use to help us improve the service we offer. We always expect there to be a mix of experienced staff but from what you say we failed on this occasion. However, I’m really glad that overall you had such an enjoyable time and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hathersage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I have just returned home from our 4th stay at this hotel. Once again we were not disappointed. The Hotel caters for our every need right from the breakfast with an extensive menu it is so hard to to choose from to the evening meal. Our only criticism of this is that the portions are huge!. All the staff treat you as friends and are always around should you require anything. The golf course is in excellent condition but is not very forgiving if you stray off the fairway. We stayed in a superior room which was lovely overlooking the mere and the bed was very comfortable. It is a great hotel to take your dog as they are allowed in the lounge, bedrooms and on the golf course at an extra £5 per night. We will certainly be taking ours with us on the next visit. If you are looking for a great golf break in lovely surroundings you cannot go wrong at this hotel it is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us again. It’s always a great pleasure to welcome our guests back to Thorpeness. The only place that dogs aren’t allowed is in the dining room for obvious reasons but it’s always a delight to see golfers and their dogs venturing on to the fairways.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have just returned from one of the best golf breaks I have had in a long time. We were a party of twenty men from Eaton GC, Norwich. My sentiments are shared with the rest of the guys, as the Dinner, B & B, with the addition of three rounds of golf, was such good value. Also, the hotel staff were extremely helpful with any request. We were very pleased with the quality of the food in the restaurant each evening, with an excellent selection offered. Considering we were twenty people, the service was top notch at all times. The golf course was in great condition and a challenge to all levels of golfer. The Pro-shop was well stocked, with knowledgeable staff. We, as a group, will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Really delighted that your party had such a good time with us. Our aim is to be your favourite golf club after your own and that bolt hole where you know you can go for a really good golfing experience. The team really enjoyed looking after your group and hopefully we will be able to welcome you all back at some future time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Staff really good, room excellent,surroundings beautiful, food first class service outstanding price if you get a deal online you will be more than happy well worth the trip lovely village very picturesque......................................................................................................................................

Room Tip: superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Really glad you enjoyed your stay on the Suffolk Heritage Coast. We believe that Thorpeness is a beautiful part of the country with the Meare, Beach and coastal/heathland walks.
Come again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel after a 3 night break for my husbands birthday. It is in a beautiful location with great nearby walks and views. We had a superior room which I thought was lovely and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was excellent. My only slight criticism is that they say they are dog friendly but we couldn't take the dog in the bar ( not even the conservatory area) which meant we had to go out to eat elsewhere at night. This seemed silly to us as we had to walk the dog through that area to get to our room . Upon leaving I mentioned this and they advised that they could of set us up a table in the library which may have been helpful but still felt not part of a dog friendly hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorpeness1, Hotel Director at The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Lisa - We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us but disappointed over the confusion about where you could take your dog. One of the great things about customer feedback is that it allows us to review our policy and also staff training. The only place dogs can’t go is in the restaurant for obvious reasons but you should have been allowed to eat with your dog in the bar patio area. We should have been able to explain this clearly to you and apologies that we couldn’t. We are dog friendly and many people with dogs return time and again as we hope you will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
2.3 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
1.8 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 5 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 5 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
11.1 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Lakeside Avenue | Thorpeness, Aldeburgh IP16 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to one of the East of England's finest golf courses the Thorpeness Golf Resort features a 36 bedroom hotel that sits in between the golf course and the Meare, a man made lake and one of the most iconic views in the area with the house in the clouds a pitching wedge away. The clubhouse is steeped in history with all the competition winners listed over the many years the club has been in existence. However, the hotel isn't just for golfers with the Suffolk Heritage coast boasting many fantastic places to visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorpeness Hotel Aldeburgh
The Thorpeness Hotel And Golf Club Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.