We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Lion Hotel

Save Saved
You added The White Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Aldeburgh
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed Sunday night in a standard sea view room that was nice and spacious. Bed was very comfortable. There was a pleasant lounge with ample seating area. Situation just across the road from the beach was perfect and traffic was very light and parking easy off season. Dinner in the restaurant was good although wines were on the expensive side. Breakfast was excellent. A good experience and we will return.

Room Tip: Worth choosing a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    541
    243
    61
    9
    3
See reviews for
101
522
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was our third year that we have spent a weekend at the White Lion . this year there was eight of us . We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.The staff were very friendly and attentive , the food was good,the weather good what more could we have asked for.We had some friends join us for Sunday lunch so there was eleven of us, this was also excellent. Well done everyone at the White Lion.

Room Tip: splash out on a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Lovely staff without exception and great value for money. The location is perfect, Aldburgh is a lovely little town and in easy reach of Snape, Southwold and lots of coastal walks. Food choice and service all excellent. I would thoroughly recommend The White Lion and hope to be back there soon.

Room Tip: We chose an inside room as we didn't mind not having a sea view. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I took her Mum & Dad here to celebrate her 80th birthday.We booked the deal which gave you a sea view room with afternoon tea, dinner with wine and breakfast.Absolutley fantastic value for money.I assumed that dinner would have to be chosen from the set menu but no everything was available from the al acarte.great service and very friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble.Will definately be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just got back from a very relaxing weekend, what makes this a great hotel is the staff they are well trained, helpful pleasant and happy to help. The restaurant is a good standard and a good choice of beverages. The town is extremely pretty.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely hotel, staff were very friendly and most helpful,food was great with no restrictions on choice,if weather had been better it would have been perfect but there is nothing ,that can be done about that, my wife and I hope to return again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Have a sea view in nice weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our first visit to The White Lion and as soon as we arrived at the seafront hotel we were warmly greeted by staff. We opted for an inland explorer room which turned out to be a very large and spacious room with a good size bathroom. It was modern and exceptionally clean with local magazines on the area a welcome addition. We then enjoyed a seaside walk and explored the local high street before dining in the brasserie. I had moules frites which were deliciously fresh and tasty while my partner had steak. A glass of rose complimented the moules perfectly.
The beds were comfy and we enjoyed a good night sleep. One of the highlights of our stay was the suffolk breakfast - the full english was delicious with the sausages and bacon exceptional. The white lion is the perfecf place to explore suffolk and enjoy a break in aldeburgh at any time of the year. We'll definitely be returning...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.