We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massively improved, but some of the detail still not right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The White Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The White Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Massively improved, but some of the detail still not right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The recent renovation has made a huge difference. Things are mostly right now and the staff are very attentive, but we found problems with some details. The pillows are awful - hard, bouncy, synthetic - I woke up feeling as if I'd lost a fight. One waitress (who was otherwise excellent) was chewing gum when she served breakfast. The toast at breakfast was not good - soggy, chewy, cheap pre-sliced bread - it let down what was otherwise a nice breakfast. The flower arrangement by reception looked fabulous but smelt awful - we both thought someone had had an "accident" when we walked in - try "lilies smell like urine" in Google and you'll see that we're not alone in thinking this... bad choice. Lastly, our bathroom extract fan wasn't working and the hotel was unable to fix it throughout the weekend (Would they have found a weekend maintenance engineer if something more serious had broken down? I think so). The window was painted shut so we had no fresh air in the bathroom - the hotel did eventually provide a can of air freshener - thankfully not lily-scented!

Oh, and by the way, the superior sea-facing rooms are directly over the function room, so if there is a wedding on (as there was on Saturday) you might want to stay in a cheaper room. The hotel warned us well in advance and we were fine with it. The music stopped as promised at 1130pm and we had no problem with it. I just mention it in case you're more sensitive to these things.

So overall a good stay - with just a bit more attention to detail it could be a really excellent one. We hope to stay again.

Room Tip: Superior sea facing rooms are over the function room - check if you're sensitive to late evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, It is very importnat to us and we do strive to achieve excellence throughout the hotel with customer service. I would like to talk to you in more detail reagrding your recent stay, if you could email info@whitelion.co.uk with your contact details I would be more than happy to discuss with you. Hope to see you again soon, Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    304
    80
    16
    6
See reviews for
121
627
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have just had a weekend stay at this hotel to celebrate our anniversary. The room was clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished. Nice artwork, too.The evening meal in the restaurant was enjoyable and the breakfast was even better. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. all in all, I'd recommend it and I think we will be going back. I loved the sea view view too. Minor niggle - I would have liked a chest of drawers for our clothing.

Room Tip: As others have suggested - go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could share your special occasion here at the White Lion. We hope to see you again, please stay in touch. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice room, clean and welcoming. Staff excellent, dining facilities extremely good and staff attentive. Shame about the view from bedroom window which was looking out onto other backs of buildings and windows.

Room Tip: For a sea view room, you have to pay extra otherwise faced with an unpleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Great to see you, and see you again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the White Lion celebrating our friends 60th birthday. What an enjoyable experience. The staff were attentive, friendly and efficient. They seemed to all work together to make sure our stay was just as we wished. Parking was a bit of an issue when we returned on Saturday evening as there was a function on, but it did not detract from our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay, I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel seven years ago, I was a little reluctant to stay again as there had been problems with not having hot water in our room. However, thanks to Tripadvisor reviews I decided to give it another try.

So glad I did. What a major improvement. It has been tastefully renovated but still retains the charm of an older hotel. Our room was brilliant with a sea view of the fish huts and the sea, all helped by the wonderful sunshine. I cannot fault the room for cleanliness and facilities. We had two very deep wardrobes with case stand, ironing board and iron, and fan for hot days. I was also surpised that we were given bathrobes too. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate with a very long bath (for my 5' 1" anyway). The hairdryer was not one of those stupid wall mounted, hold your finger on to operate a lukewarm breath jobs, it was a good hot dryer complete with funnel - perfect for my unruly hair. The only thing I would have wanted was a magnifying mirror somewhere in the bathroom as I forgot mine. The tea tray had a good selection of teas, coffees and milk and cream, including two packs of biscuits. This was completely replenished the next morning.

The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful. Freshly cooked, very hot, beautifully presented and excellent quality ingredients - I couldn't wait till the next morning to sample it again. Even the toast, juice and coffee were brilliant (and I am fussy) The staff throughout were attentive, helpful and pleasant - our special thanks to Pille. Both mornings we were given a table by the window so we could gaze out to the sea.

We ate in the restaurant both nights and again the food was excellent. All in all, it was a wonderful stay. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a twin room with sea view - 38. Don't mess it up as we want to go again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review. You are indeed right there has been many changes to the White Lion since April 2011. The team work hard to ensure all of our guests are extremely happy.Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have just returned form our first stay at the White Lion, but not our first stay in Aldeburgh, we have been there many times. We were not disappointed with our choice this time, room was ok, nothing special but certainly adequate and we didnt want to be in our room a lot anyway, especially with the gorgeous town, beach and walks waiting for us! Being a footie supporter, I was delighted to find Sky Sports in our room, an added bonus Staff were very good, very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. All inall, we'd like to stay again if a good offer comes up

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the experience of the White Lion, the staff work extremely hard to ensure that all of guests feel speical. Please stay in touch and we look forward to welcoming you soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed Sunday & Monday nights in a 1st floor exec sea view room, as part of a trip to a friends 80'th birthday party. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard since our last stay here. Public rooms and bedroom/en-suite were spotlessly clean, and the morning view a delight.

The bed was very comforable with crisp linen adding to the experience. Both my wife and I slept like logs on both nights.

Breakfast was good with a reasonable variety on offer and efficiently served by willing and friendly staff. Overall the stay added significantly to our weekend and we hope to return here again, one of our favourite parts of the country, before too long.

Room Tip: Sea view at the front of the hotel is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you, I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay. We hope to see you again soon, stay in touch. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western
The White Lion Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.