We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brudenell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Brudenell Hotel to your Saves list
The Brudenell Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel,right on the front,dining room looks out on the beach and sea,staff are excellent as well as the food,the rooms are spacious, had a sea view room,will be going back






room,will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    173
    68
    17
    6
See reviews for
102
398
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were staying two minutes away so visited for brunch and dinner. The hotel is very attractive and right on the beach with fabulous views. The service was excellent and we were made so welcome and treated as valued guests. The food was excellent and well presented. The menu is sea food based, with lots of interesting and different items. There's enough choice for non fish eaters too. I would love to stay there in the future.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location, right on the seafront, is very attractive. Our initial impression was coloured by us being allocated a tiny rear-facing room and by the seeming inability of front desk staff to handle our request for a more suitable room. Once this was sorted out all went well. There are pleasant lounges. Rooms are attractively decorated. Bathroom was roomy with shower intelligence test the usual trial. Breakfasts were good as was lunch, though while service was cheerful and willing it was sometimes very erratic eg our appetiser arrived after our main course and we had to wait interminably for coffee on another occasion.

Complimentary wifi does not in practice reach all rooms - we had to use public areas.

Room Tip: Make sure room is big enough if there are two of you with luggage. Some rooms very small. Also ensur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here on a sunny winter's day in a superior room and it was worth it with views overlooking the sea. The room was bright and spacious with a 'sit out' area. The location really is very special. In the evening we ate in the restaurant which was good but not outstanding and really did not seem to match up to the quality of the hotel overall. The breakfast was good. We would commend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet break away from the general hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: Chose a seaview room - worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Vjkm
Many thanks for your feedback and kind comments. I am sorry to read you didn’t feel the food lived up to our hotel, the Head Chef, James, is very experience and works extremely hard to maintain our two rosette award restaurant standard. I hope we can do better on your next visit
Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Room top notch.
Food excellent.
Restaurant service - something obviously wrong while we were there? Nobody seemingly in charge and food and drinks took an age to come at both breakfast and dinner.
Car parking space - very good for busy town.
Stairs labyrinthine if you can find them.

Room Tip: Sea view best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Dixiegrand

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience, I am pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. Sorry that you felt the service was slow, we always have a manager on duty so I hope this will be more seamless on your next visit.
We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had a very relaxing time at this super hotel. Staff very helpful and rooms in very good order - the breakfast is superb and I would recommend to anybody looking for a weekend break. This is defintely our favourite place to come for a weekend away!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Martin

Many thanks for leaving you feedback, I am pleased you had a relaxing time at the hotel. I will pass your kind comments onto the team
We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regard
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked the hotel online and in doing so specified a sea view room. We then got a call from the Manager (Mr. Osborne) to say there was an error and that whilst he could still offer a sea view, it wouldn't be quite the standard of the one we thought we had booked. He was both "up-front" and pleasant about the problem (quite refreshing in this day and age!) and offered recompense. In the event when we arrived, the original room was available (through a cancellation) so all was well. Our stay, albeit the one night enjoyable, food was excellent, as was the service. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrudenellGManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Bernard
Many thanks for your understanding of the situation and I am pleased we managed to resolve the issue leaving you happy and enjoying a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble’s throw from Aldeburgh’s shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted VisitBritain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brudenell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.