We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful unique independent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wentworth Hotel to your Saves list
Wentworth Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful unique independent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at The Wentworth during May .As we had booked in advance we were too early for the special May offers and we were just a little dissapointed to see that the cost would have been far less if we had held off booking until that month .Next time we will wait for their monthly offers which makes the hotel about the right price then , The hotel is lovely ,run by excellent staff and Management .Our room in the annexe was excellent ,decorated very well and a wonderful electronic shower unit .The toilietries were also very nice .The main hotel is truly old English and the restaurant,bar ,meals and service extemely good .I would certainly recomend this hotel to mature couples seeking a traditional well run hotel .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your review

I'm sorry you missed our offers. We run these as 'last minute' deals for those that will be booking a room nearer the date and there is obviously a slight risk that people may miss out on a booking if they wait until the offers are released

I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and the traditional ambience it has. It is also pleasing to note that you enjoyed the meals and service

I hope we can welcome you back very soon, and hope you may be able to take advantage of a late deal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    93
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
218
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here for a one night to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We booked their "May Offer" deal of bed, breakfast and dinner in a double room with sea view at £179. The hotel is unique in that it's an independent hotel run by the same family since 1920 and so doesn't have the feel of a hotel chain. Upon arrival the receptionist was pleasant, efficient and check in was easy. We managed to get into the room 20 minutes early. The décor in the hotel, room and bathroom was very tasteful and beautifully done - antique style furniture with a contemporary twist and really nice art work throughout. The hotel is well maintained, spotlessly clean and the service by all staff we encountered was impeccable. We had a sea view which was worth the extra money. We very much enjoyed the varied three course meal on offer which was cooked to perfection. We did go down for breakfast even though we were both still so full from dinner the previous night, and once again the breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious. We are very well acquainted with Aldeburgh - it's still a working fishing village/town where the fishermen sell their fish from wooden huts on the beach, with limited commercialism, quality shops and plenty of good places to eat in such a wonderful setting. The only slight drawback was in our early 50s we were by far the youngest guests at the hotel so do consider that when booking, but the advantage to this was there were no children/teenagers etc. We would certainly recommend this hotel to a couple for a romantic weekend or celebration anniversary.

Room Tip: Definitely consider paying extra for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a detailed review. It is pleasing that the traditional and independent nature of the hotel are appreciated. The hotel has been a labour of love for the family for nearly a century now and we certainly aim to create a homely atmosphere and would not want to be recognised as a place like any other. We are truly independent and pride ourselves on this.

Your comments regarding the food will be passed onto the kitchen team and, I'm sure, will be gratefully received.

We do hope you will revisit us very soon

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at the Wentworth for a weekend break with some friends who had stayed a few years ago. We had rooms over looking the sea and the vista was wonderful! The hotel was of excellent standard and the rooms decorated and updated very tastefully and were spotlessly clean,
The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service and I must make a special mention of Kathy in the restaurant who was an absolute character and lovely.
All in all a lovely weekend stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: Sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We run a rolling refurbishment program to try and ensure everything is to the highest standard for guests.

I will pass on your comments to Kathy. She certainly is a character!

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at the Wentworth as part of a group of old friends for two nights over a weekend. I rarely give five stars as you always need something to aspire to but this Hotel came close. I work in the Hotel industry and am very critical of poor service, poor maintenance and poor value. The Wentworth, in my view, is one the best regional hotels that I have stayed in of it's category. The bedrooms are very clean and well maintained, well designed and thought out. The food is of a very good standard, reasonably priced and a good, value for money wine list (a particularly good Suffolk white wine). The service was attentive but not intrusive. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this property as on the basis of our visit they deserve it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for leaving your review. I am happy we came close to a top rating with you

It is pleasing to read that you deem the Wentworth to be one of the best regional hotels. This is certainly part of our aspirations

Your comments are appreciated and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Visiting friends in the area so stayed one night, its pleasant and in a nice location with everything in walking distance. Very busy little village with loads of tourists. The food was good and the standard was high, much better than many city places. I will stay again for longer and recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you are looking at coming back for longer on your next visit.

I do hope we can achieve a five star rating from you on your next stay. Please do contact me if we feel short in any way. I can be contacted by email - james.wentworth@hotmail.com

Best wishes and thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have stayed many times at this outstanding hotel, but I had not been there for a few years, my wife wanted to try it so off we went.

What a good decision it was, we have gone back to many places in the past and been disappointed, but not at The Wentworth, it was better than I remember!!

A lovely hotel, food superb, staff top notch, plus very attentive, rooms beautiful, situation stunning.

We will be going back in 2015, if not before.

Room Tip: Take a sea view room 14 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased too that you made the decision to re-visit us after a break.

We are pleased you enjoyed everything about the hotel and we look forward to seeing you in 2015 but, as you say, hopefully before

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a very special place and we are truly enamoured with it. The hotel itself is charming; indeed, according to a fellow guest, 'magical.' As we had booked without a deal many months ago for our Silver Wedding celebration, our expectations were high; it lived up to these ...and more. We loved the views across to the fishermen's huts and down to the sea, the choice of lounges with the luxurious furnishings, the well-planted gardens and colourful planters, our bedroom and fabulous bathroom in Darfield House, the wonderful food and our table in the conservatory/ garden lounge with our dog, Lucy - Thank You, Roger. We know we shall return, and bring others to share in this magical experience with us.

Room Tip: Darfield House -1st floor room facing the garden has a luxurious bathroom with bath & shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review

We are delighted that you chose to spend your sliver wedding celebration with us. We are certainly blessed with being right on the sea front and the views can be gorgeous.

The lounges receive excellent praise and the furnishings and artwork are always chosen with a sense of pride by the proprietor who works here actively

Hopefully Lucy enjoyed her time here too and she is welcome back any time, as are you of course

Thank you again for leaving such a lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wentworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth is a country house style hotel right on the seafront in the coastal town of Aldeburgh. It has many seafacing bedrooms and provides the ideal getaway for the discerning couple. Gardens in the summer and cosy fires in the winter provide comfortable places to enjoy the atmosphere of this charming hotel. Couples, families and the business traveller are all welcome at this family owned hotel, now in its 3rd generation of ownership ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.