We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food festival time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snape Maltings

Snape Maltings
Snape Bridge Road | Near Aldeburgh, Aldeburgh, England
01728 688303
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Aldeburgh
Type: Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snape Maltings is a much loved destination on the Suffolk Coast. Situated alongside the River Alde and the collection of 7 acres of Victorian listed buildings are filled with an array of independent shops, galleries, eateries and home to the world famous Snape Maltings Concert Hall. There are river walks to Iken and Aldeburgh and river trips which sail on the tide to Iken from May to September. Enjoy walking along the boardwalks through the reeds and view the stunning sculptures by Henry Moore and Barbara Hepworth.Farmers markets take place on the first Saturday of each month. Snape Maltings has been a family owned and operated business for over 45 years.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Food festival time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited Snape Maltings during their recent food festival. Although very busy we had a great time looking at all of the food stalls and Snape Matings' shops too. The live music was a nice touch. The "Fatties" food outlet was the only disappointing memory and although looking forward it visiting the Maltings again, we'll not be going back there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnapeMaltings, Owner at Snape Maltings, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about visiting the Maltings during the Food Festival.

I was sorry that you found the "Fatties" food outlet disappointing, it is important that the food and drink outlets reflect the standards of the Maltings and in fact they no longer have a place at the Maltings. I trust you will be pleased with the food and drink menus offered in Cafe 1885, The Granary Tea Shop or the Plough & Sail on your future visits.

WIth kind regards
Alesha Gooderham
Snape Maltings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    77
    35
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good shops and galleries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The coffee shop was very attractive and staff pleasant but coffee and cake were both a disappointment. The Snape Malting concert hall could not been visited on the day we were there...due to something unspecified going on....not a concert for sure. There was a superb exhibition of drift wood sculpture. the Barbara Hepworth and Henry Moore sculptures are very good. River trips over till May 2014...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnapeMaltings, Owner at Snape Maltings, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed in the coffee and cake.

Thank you for acknowledging the sculptures by Barbara Hepworth and Henry Moore - which I still find incredible to think that pieces by two such eminent artists are here on our doorstep.

With regards to The Concert Hall they do need to close for various reasons such as a rehearsal or a sound checks. As it is such a stunning building with an interesting and rich history it is worth checking with the Aldeburgh Music office to ascertain when it is open for a visit.

WIth kind regards
Alesha Gooderham
Snape Maltings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Every time we're in Suffolk we always visit Snape Maltings and I always spend far too much money in the shops here! Shopping is slightly expensive, I'm pretty sure you can buy the same things cheaper elsewhere but it's a nice experience and good place to while away a few hours!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnapeMaltings, Owner at Snape Maltings, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Delighted to read that you always visit us when you are in Suffolk. Thank you for the positive comments about the shops and your overall visit. We look forward to seeing you again,


With kind regards
Alesha Gooderham
Snape Maltings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit for something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were staying in Aldeburgh & decided to go to Snape Maltings as had heard so much about it.
We were very pleasantly surprised. A great variety of shops with gifts that you cant find anywhere else.
A few places to eat & drink too.
The weather was great which always makes a good day out.
We would visit again to find the things that you always miss the first visit!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnapeMaltings, Owner at Snape Maltings, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Victoria,

Thank you for your great review and so pleased you decided to visit. We have a great team who work incredibly hard to ensure our products are unique and the Maltings continually offers something interesting to see and do.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards
Alesha Gooderham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Shoppers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Absolutely love this place. We went in the summers and spent a few hours shopping. Found some really unusual things and it was ll very reasonably priced. There is a lovely cafe run by a warm and friendly lady where they do an amazing array of light meals and great coffee.
I would love to see what this place is like at Christmas time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnapeMaltings, Owner at Snape Maltings, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your email - it made us all smile as we work really hard to deliver exactly what you describe.

I have shared your comments with Victoria in Cafe 1885 and she was delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Cafe and your words about the menu and the great coffee.

We are now in Christmas season and the shops and galleries are looking amazing and it is one of our favourite times of the year.

With kind regards
Alesha Gooderham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snape Maltings also viewed

 
Thorpeness, Suffolk
Aldeburgh, Suffolk
 

Been to Snape Maltings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snape Maltings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.