We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful afternoon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bar and Brasserie - White Lion Hotel

The Bar and Brasserie - White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel | Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
01728 452 720
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bar and Brasserie - White Lion Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Our new Bar and Brasserie has been inspired by a modern desire to return to simple, 'back to basics' food, offering freshly prepared dishes, contemporary, informal surroundings and impeccable service. We hope the whole family will enjoy dining with us. From fresh fish bought from Dean's Shed, situated on the beach opposite the White Lion, to smoked kippers sourced from Pinney's of Orford, every ingredient used in the exciting dishes which feature on the new menu, has been 'hand picked' to guarantee an abundance of flavours - Bon Appétit.
1 review
“A wonderful afternoon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had the afternoon tea, as we have done on several occasions, and was to its usual high standards. The staff were ever so friendly and it is always a relaxed place to enjoy a few hours.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The Bar and Brasserie - White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure ot have met you and I do hope you will return again soon. Stay in touch with all the latest news, offers and event here at the Whit Lion over the course of the next 9 months. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    68
    42
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice meal and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Delicious, well presented food. Good service & friendly staff. The feel is a little less “local” than other venues we ate in town and a little less personal. A nice mal all round, but also more pricey for some (not all) food and the wine range than others we would consider equal in quality.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The Bar and Brasserie - White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent service, great food in deal locational which caters for all dietary needs which is why we contine to go back again and”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Always friendly, service is excellent. I am ceoliac and they always cater for my needs. We always take family and friends when visiting and they love it as much as us. We have been to several events which are always family friendly and our children love eating at the white lion as much as we do.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The Bar and Brasserie - White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments, your feedback is extremely important to us. It does reassure the team they are doing a grand job in ensuring all of our diners are enjoying their experience. We do hope to see you again very soon. Stay in touch, Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“imaginative menu in a relaxed surrounding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

and yet again we have been found to be right about eating lunch in the bar and brasserie at the White Lion in Aldeburgh as it always 'just hits the spot' and delivers the right choice of food,drink and ambience to fit the occasion, whether with friends or just 'a deux'. Slightly informal or slightly formal makes no difference and the service has always been effecient and friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The Bar and Brasserie - White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed the experience. Our head chef Jason Shaw and myself take a very keen interest in our menu that changes with the seasons to incorpate some of the finest produce available to us in such a fruitful area. Come back and see us again very soon. Be sure to add your self to our mailing list to keep up to date with all the news, offers and forthcoming events at the White Lion. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A mixed bag!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited for birthday Sunday lunch but did expect a bit more unfortunately, the food was not very hot. We were asked how we would like our beef I chose medium rare but it came out well done but still tasted ok x the best part of the meal I would highly reccomend was the dessert it was lovely!
Some staff a little unattentive took about 2ins to get someone's attention to pay! Overall though good

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bar and Brasserie - White Lion Hotel also viewed

 
Aldeburgh, Suffolk
 

Been to The Bar and Brasserie - White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bar and Brasserie - White Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.